We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siren Hall

Siren Hall
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Elk Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

First visit for dinner and delighted with menu choices, wine and service on the terrace were terrific. We'd have made a reservation but didn't know we could reserve a table between 5-6PM, since the website didn't mention it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollie826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    46
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
166 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Destination Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Renovated from a former garage turned antique shop turned upscale restaurant, this revitalized minimalist restaurant brings fine dining to a discriminating palate. Sitting in the harsh concrete-walled dining area, you become part of the ambiance. The food is delectable, a tad bit pricy, but the entire experience is so worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doc3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A disappointing evening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Service was not up to par for a restaurant of this price point and no excuse on a quiet night. Server was no where to be found after our first course of oysters, which were fresh and delicious. Had to ask bartender for a glass of wine to go with main course. Fish, brisket and veggie sides were well prepared, but the accompanying potatoes and onion stack were cold. Both service and food issues can easily be fixed if management cares to.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never had anything "average" here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The food is consistently great. In the summer sitting outdoors is very very nice. Inside, in can be loud if it is very busy.
Be sure and try it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jod971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“CAN'T STOP COMING BACK FOR MORE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

After many visits for both lunch and dinner, we just find it's well worth the short trip from Traverse City to Siren Hall in Elk Rapids. Some days, the hectic pace of downtown TC gets to us, and the drive up to Elk Rapids is relaxing. It's a pleasure to be able to park near the front door of a restaurant and get a table with no wait. (most of the time!)
Our most recent visit was as a party of four. We enjoyed everything from salads, pizza, hamburger, and wonderful dinner entrees. We FEASTED!
The choice of salads makes it difficult to choose, but we continue to order our favorite: the blended greens with pear, spicy walnuts, and bleu cheese with a delicious, light shallot vinaigarette dressing. Never does it disappoint! Next, the cremini mushroom pizza...served piping hot and freshly made. Topped with fresh arugula, pine nuts and made with goat cheese it's a meal in itself.
I saw one of the most perfectly prepared hamburgers ever arrive at the table - huge, and with plenty of crisp french fries. 10 ounces of hamburger heaven? Piled with cheese and bacon, yum. Every morsel on that plate disappeared; my cousin said it was wonderful and he really enjoyed it.
My buddy ordered the Blackened whitefish and enjoyed everything on his plate, too; the fish was fresh, cooked to perfection. He really enjoyed the smashed potatoes.
I had the pork tenderloin with sweet potato and kale, in a tasty marinade. Great blend of flavors, as always.
The dessert - flourless chocolate torte - is not to be missed. Wonderful.
I will say our service was adequate, but with room for improvement - some delays and "disappearances". Also, missed having a bread or roll offered with entrees. (I also resent that there is a charge for bread of $1.95)
All in all, though, we had a really great time and can't wait to come back for more!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaDolceDiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siren Hall also viewed

Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 

Been to Siren Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing