We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“up North great Southern food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen

Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Elk Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“up North great Southern food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

What a great surprise to find such quality Southern food in Michigan! Cool décor, friendly and very helpful waitress, and an amazing menu! It's crawfish celebration time in June, and they had some very interesting choices on their special menu. The corn/crawfish chowder is the best I've ever had! I had shrimp and grits-it's different every place you have it, for sure. This was with a tomato/onion sauce over the grits that was excellent. The serving was a little small, but that way you weren't too full and could try a few things from the menu. The jambalaya is very hot, as it should be! The pork dish with cornbread stuffing was super. Go...you won't regret it! Guys-check out the funny paintings in the restroom, too. Very reasonable, easy to find-a gem in Michigan.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flagirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    93
    18
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crawfish Festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Attended Pearl's Crawfish Festival 2014
Ordered the Crawfish Boil Dinner and it was great. As the waitress told us, to eat the Crawfish Boil dinner you will get down and dirty. Food was a little spicy and that is the way that it is supposed to be. For those of you who have not tried crawfish, you should.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 205purdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I had Pearl's for the first time during a weekend visit to Traverse City. We drove the 20mins from our hotel to have dinner here and it was beyond worth it. We each the Oysters Half Shell as an appetizer and they were huge and delicious. Paired that with a mint julip and had the blackened catfish with crawfish. My boyfriend had the Delmonico. We both loved our dinner and took a chocolate cake home for dinner. The food and atmosphere was amazing and our waitress was one of the best we've ever had - attentive but not rushing us.

I will try and go here every time I'm in Northern Michigan.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TS11411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You would never believe that this restaurant is in the middle of nowhere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This restaurant is in the summer village of Elk Rapids. The food is good, but pricey. The atmosphere is awesome! Lots and Lots of memorabilia hanging around, including a giant mosquito. Often there is live music, and the service is very good. A family favorite of ours is the Cheddar Grits with Andouille Sausage and Greens. It is delicious! On Wednesday stop by for their special -- a POBoy and a PINT. The PINT is all craft beer from Michigan. The total for the special is 9.99. You cannot find a better deal. Be sure to check out the rest rooms. They have hand painted murals and are sure to surprise you! Unless it is Wednesday, this is not an inexpensive restaurant, entrees range from 12 to 20 bucks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hot! Hot! Hot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stopped into Pearl's for a snack. Friendly people and fun atmosphere. Tried the buffalo oysters and they were out of this world. Going back for a full meal. Hot sauce lovers dream.

Helpful?
Thank davlineats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen also viewed

Elk Rapids, Antrim County
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing