We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and tasty experience!”

Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Elk Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty experience!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

"Laissez les bon temps rouler" is the fun and tasty theme at Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen, where my wife and I enjoyed a great weekend dinner. Started off with an awesome bloody mary and margarita, followed by a downright righteous spicy crawfish and tasso etoufee and a turkey muftalella sandwich. The service was sincerely friendly and spot-on efficient. The atmosphere is like going to Mardi-Gras, with hundreds of bottles of hot sauces and voodoo dolls adorning the walls. Will be bringing my family and friends to this special "Up-North" place very soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    95
    19
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nawlins in Michigan”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had always wanted to try this restaurant and finally did yesterday and were so glad we did. Nice atmosphere with background music (emphasis on background) of bluesy/zydeco. Had a drink menu with lots of New Orleans themed drinks. The food was delicious-many New Orleans favorites. French bread outstanding (cornbread not so good). The manager stopped by our table to welcome us as newcomers which was a nice personal touch. Our server was great-very knowledgeable and personable. Ask for Dee-Dee.
If you are in the mood for a New Orleans fix, this is the place for you. If you just want a good meal, this is also the place for you. It was well worth the drive. We plan to return soon to try the brunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oaklanding10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was not a place to take a 2 year old - the wait was long, and noisy. The food was okay, but not outstanding in my opinion. We went here because we couldn't find anyplace else at the time (it was "on the way" to where we were going).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such a great find off the beaten path!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

First let me say that my spouse and I are loyal aficionados of New Orleans, and have gone to the Jazz Festival for several years. The atmosphere, the music, the food are all draws that keep us going back. We were delighted to find Pearl's by Elk Rapids. We had a short wait, so we started a hurricane on the patio, decorated with beads twisted around the straw. At our table, we were pleased with the eclectic decor of the restaurant, and the obvious fun the customers were having! The menu was extensive, and we started with a bowl of thick, well spiced gumbo to share. Then our charming waitress brought a basket of french bread and corn bread and a Sazerac, just to keep the mood going. We ordered the Jambalaya (which included chicken on the bone, andouille sausage and seafood) and the Etouffee, with a choice of 2 meats (we picked crawfish and blackened shrimp) and they were both delicious and beautiful to behold! They were well seasoned and we were given hefty portions of both - so much that we couldn't finish, and couldn't take advantage of the Bananas Foster we had planned to share for dessert. This was a wonderful dining experience, and so unexpected off the beaten path in upper Michigan! We will definitely make this a stop on our next trip Up North.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lunazure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful rajun cajun”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visit this restaurant every year on our trip to Traverse City. Great atmosphere. Cajun food at its finest. Cat fish specialty a must. Soups all fantastic. Every dish great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kvanbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen also viewed

Elk Rapids, Antrim County
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 

Been to Pearl's New Orleans Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing