We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it!! Find another place to stay!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tawas Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in East Tawas
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't do it!! Find another place to stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

We booked this place for a business gathering and the availability of a large block of rooms. The location was nice.
Unfortunately that is the only thing I can say about the stay.

The rooms were not clean to anyones satisfaction. Trash was left in one visitors room along with a used condom wrapper, the bedding was wrinkled and didn't show signs of being recently changed. We had a rather large spider in residence behind our bathroom door complete with a nice web. The carpeting in our room was filthy, we never took our shoes off the entire time there.The air condition was uncontrollable. Everything in our room was damp. The beds are doublesize and not queensize. I usally make my self a cup of coffee in the room but I didn't even want to do that, because it would require my using the cups and pot.

The wait staff or rather the bartender was rude and loud about her being inconveinced by our group. The statement she made was "I'm not getting him a beer. Don't they know I am also taking care of the restaurant customers too." I was standing there at the time of this statement and I turned and looked at the restaurant partons and there were two tables of two taken. If she is unable to handle a crowd maybe she is in the wrong business!

This place seemed to me to not be a very busy place and should have relished the idea of having such a large business group there. If for no other reason but for repeat business!!!!
If they do a fine business now, then I guess it won't matter that they lost at least twenty families of repeat buisness.... but I would be concerned about the word of mouth business that will ultimately destroy them. My recomendation is to find another place to stay. Oh, we did have one waitress who was very nice, pleasent and helpful. She was the young lady who waited on our party for lunch at the water side bar and restuarant. Didn't catch her name but she was the only bright spot at this so called resort.

  • Liked — close to Suttons Bay shopping
  • Disliked — filthy rooms & rude staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank trvlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    63
    28
    22
    47
See reviews for
61
67
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brownstown, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

While this hotel is well located and walking distance to everything, it is in serious need of updating. The rooms are clean but dingy and musty smelling. We had ants everywhere including in the bed! The beach is in poor condition. Rocks are everywhere as well as empty bottles and cigarette butts. We were also disturbed by the amount of goose droppings lining the beach. I would stay in the area again, but will need to look for better property. I certainly didn't feel it was worth the price.

  • Liked — Location... close to downtown
  • Disliked — Dirty unkept beach
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Tawas hotels

Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

I booked a two night stay over the phone several weeks in advance. Arrived at the hotel and stayed the first night. During my second day, while I was relaxing on the beach, hotel personnel approached me and stated that the room I was in had been double booked for that night and I needed to move my luggage to another room. The second room was smaller than the original and a smoking room, but I was told that was all that was available. The hotel made no effort to compensate me for this inconvenience and led me to believe it was my fault not calling back and confirming my telephone reservations. The staff at Tawas Bay Beach Resort are very unprofessional and extremely untrained in dealing with customer issues. For many years I vacationed at the East Tawas Holiday Inn, but since the change in ownership I would not recommend staying at this hotel ever. Avoid the Tawas Bay Beach Resort and its staff!

  • Liked — Leaving the parking lot!
  • Disliked — Very rude and unprofessional staff....everywhere!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank companyman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed a few days at this hotel, and while it was clean, and close to everything, it wasn't worth the price. It did have an added bonus of a full breakfast free, which was very nice. The rooms were hit or miss if you had a refrigerator or not. When i called to the front desk to request one, they said they didn't know exactly which rooms had one, and it was just the luck of the draw if you got one. No rooms had microwaves. These two amenities are standard in many hotels, and that will make us not want to stay there again, as we ate out all the time and had leftovers we couldn't save. Also a fridge is nice for pop, etc. Not very family friendly in that aspect.

  • Liked — location, free breakfast
  • Disliked — no microwaves, hit or miss on fridges
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lrswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2007

I walked into this hotel, and was impressed by such a nice clean place for a tiny town of East Tawas!!! The food was excellent, considering hotel food usuallly isnt that good. I travel 6 months out of the year. I know hotels and this is a good one!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank airlinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern lower Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2007

Very poor condition, run down. I was given a room with no heat on and the outside temp near zero. After an hour of the heat on high and the heat lights on in the bathroom, it was still cold. I asked for another room that was warmer. I was told by the clerk that I could have a similar style room where the heat had been turned on but it would cost 10.00 more because of the location. I was stunned by such an outrageous lack of customer service. I travel constantly on business, both on an international and local level and have never been treated that way. I checked out right away and went to the local Days Inn. Although it didn't have a restaurant, it was new, modern and I was treated like royalty.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank greenwoodsfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2006

We went to this hotel (which is no longer a holiday inn) to seek refuge from a terrible storm that had flooded our camp site. What I got was worse then sleeping in water. The room smelled like cat urine. The cable was out and the bath tub was dirty. I woke with bug bites all over my body. I did not get one bite camping but had twenty eight bites the night I stayed in this hotel! I went to the desk manager and she wanted to comp my room but the hotel managers said no. They said they would pay for me to go to an ER for medical treatment but would not take anything off the room. How ridiculous is that....spend my day and waste my time as well as waste insurance money to sit in the ER for bug bites. I don't know if they are Flea bites or bed bugs but I do know that I was miserable for two weeks with them. Don't stay here...sleep in your car instead.

  • Disliked — Flea Bites
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dennybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Tawas
2.8 mi away
Bay Inn Tawas
Bay Inn Tawas
#3 of 5 in Tawas City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
9.7 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#3 of 10 in Oscoda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
11.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
#1 of 2 in Au Gres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
11.8 mi away
Oscoda Lakeside Hotel
Oscoda Lakeside Hotel
#7 of 10 in Oscoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
9.8 mi away
Huron House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawas Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawas Bay Beach Resort

Property: Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Address: 300 East Bay Street, East Tawas, MI 48730 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Location: United States > Michigan > East Tawas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in East Tawas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tawas Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort on Lake Huron. We have 101 rooms, a beach bar with live entertainment in season, a restaurant and lounge open year around, and 600 feet of clean sand beach. We also hold beach weddings and receptions and many business meetings each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tawas Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawas Bay Beach Hotel East Tawas
Tawas Bay Beach East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing