We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Tawas
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this place! Rooms were clean and comfy, gorgeous views of the water and a nice clean beach. We had our family reunion here with approx 70 people. The staff was completely friendly and professional and they went the extra mile on several occasions to make our stay a good one. Drinks and food were very reasonable and even the housekeeping staff was friendly! The only downside, and it's a small one, is the wifi. Very slow and not strong. However, they are working on it. I would come here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are bigger but there is no elevator. Bayside rooms coat more but are tota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 215 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for 8 days on business and had nothing but trouble. Satellite out, room smelled of stale cigarettes, furniture in room was filthy, air conditioner didn't work, bed was uncomfortable, over worked staff didn't have time to tend to any problems and took more than 45 minutes to become available to discuss the problem with the satellite signal. The only plus was that the hotel is situated on beautiful Lake Huron.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel was in need of a little brightening up. Our room was comfortable and clean. Bed was comfortable and air-conditioner worked great. Front desk staff and all staff we met during our stay was very friendly and helpful. Bikini bar was a good place to hang out. Trisha out rocks Marcie at the bar. Trisha made sure we were taken care of and knows how to treat a customer. The hotel gave vouchers for free breakfast for each day we stayed. Monday service was in need of help but breakfast was very good. We tried to have dinner Monday night and left after not being waited on. There was a table next to ours where the people were eating and it looked like a nice salmon dinner. We had breakfast on the second day and had wonderful service and a good breakfast. The manager on duty was our server and we voiced our concerns and she listened to our experiences with genuine concern. Hotel was very quiet, we didn't hear anything in the room or hallways.

Room Tip: 254 at the end on the second floor over looking the bay was a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night, July 14, 2013. Our room did not originally have soap, etc. in the bathroom. We needed to flag down one of the folks cleaning the rooms to get basic amenities. The air conditioner was very loud and you had to turn it on or off every time you got too hot or too cold,... It didn't really work automatically based on room temperature. As the evening approached, we found an ant or two,... which turned into dozens before too long. We called the front desk about 11 p.m. and they were able to change us to another room ... without ants. The pool area was extremely hot and the pool water so hot that the kids would not even get in it. Most of the exercist equipment did not work. There were only 4 machines. Two did not turn on at all and the other two had mechanical issues that made them basically unusable. We were not able to get the WiFi to work while we were there and the front desk was unable to provide any help other than to say their computer was working just fine. The food was decent but overall this place was not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I recently stayed here and had a horrible experience. I got to my room and there were 4 flies flying around the room. I killed them, no big deal. I woke up to take a shower the next morning and there were 20 to 30 in the bathroom. They were on my toiletries and on my dishes. Very disgusting! Then tried to go to sleep and between the springs sticking into my back and the trains it was impossible! My back actually went numb from one of the springs. I tried all sides of each bed and found the least horrible spot.

They have recently painted the hallway and put new carpet in the hallway. What about the rooms? They need A LOT of work!!

The only good thing to say is the food is good!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bayside have to be quieter than the street side, you should not be able to hear the tra...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank RandE772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just traveling down the east side of Michigan with no where in particular to stay. After passing one set of cottages or small hotels after another there was Tawas, a very nice place to stay.


We left the dining room to eat in the bar because there was a large table of loud women
The bartender did a good job of handling many customers at once. A server from the restaurant came over to take our order. I was prepared for cold, bland food. However, the food was hot and absolutely delicious. Whoever their cooks/chefs are, they should be sure to keep them. If I lived in the area, I would be a constant diner there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been to the Tawas Bay Beach Resort twice in the last three years. Just spent the weekend there (June 2013). The hotel is in a superb location with lots of beach, next to the marina and across the street from downtown. Rooms are generally clean and quiet. Did not eat at hotel except for drinks outside at the Bikinis Bar. This is not a fancy hotel but a nice place to bring the family. The only real negative is that the beds are not comfortable. I am about 180 lbs and I didn't feel like the bed gave me any support. Also, our room had two double beds which is very small for two people. At least queen would be nice. We would visit this hotel again due to location but hope that they upgrade the bedding.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Tawas
2.6 mi away
Bay Inn Tawas
Bay Inn Tawas
#3 of 5 in Tawas City
81 reviews
11.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
9.8 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#2 of 10 in Oscoda
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
#1 of 2 in Au Gres
20 reviews
7.5 mi away
No photo provided
Scenic Resort
#4 of 4 in East Tawas
5 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gold Coast Family Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawas Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawas Bay Beach Resort

Address: 300 E Bay St, East Tawas, MI 48730-1456 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Location: United States > Michigan > East Tawas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Tawas
Price Range: $117 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tawas Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort on Lake Huron. We have 101 rooms, a beach bar with live entertainment in season, a restaurant and lounge open year around, and 600 feet of clean sand beach. We also hold beach weddings and receptions and many business meetings each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Tawas Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawas Bay Beach Hotel East Tawas
Tawas Bay Beach East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing