We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Tawas
Reviewed January 20, 2013

In spite of previous reviews, we decided to stay at the Tawas Bay Beach Resort this past weekend and I am really glad we did. We stayed in room 108 which was VERY clean, comfortable and quiet. It had new carpeting, new bathtub-shower, newly painted walls and new bedspreads and window coverings. The trim needs to be painted but everything else was nice. The bed was comfortable and very clean. The in-room heat worked well - thank goodness it was freezing cold outside! I was pleasantly surprised how quiet it was even with people staying in rooms close by. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but we went into the pool area and it was very clean and the pool and hot tub looked inviting. I thought it was a neat idea they have a window into the bar so you can order drinks from the pool area! The price of the room included breakfast in the restaurant. I would definitely stay there again. Please see my separate review of the restaurant.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the bay view room on the ground floor. We had room 108/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryKayOwosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 215 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I do a lot of traveling and I had to take a business trip to this area. After reading some of the previous reviews I was a bit hesitant and even brought my own blanket and air freshener just in case. But once I was there the staff were very friendly and the hotel was very clean, no strange odors in fact it had a very nice scent in the first floor hallways. The room was very clean the bed comfortable, the bathroom looked as if it was just installed and very clean bright and spotless. Nice shower. I had no problems with my room or my stay. Even when passing the staff in the hall they were very friendly. I ate in the resturant breakfast and dinner at times and was told they had a new cook. The breakfast (french toast was awsome) yes they were a little slow thats true.but the food was fine. Yes if Im in the area I would stay here again. Very accomodating.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor, my business partners stayed on the second and they had no problems to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apathseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I did not even bring my bags into the room I went up to check on it first.
No elevators the lighting was old and dim the rooms were old and unkept. The chain for the door was not tightly attached to the wall very unsafe.
NOT a resort by any means NOT even on par with a Super 8 it needs a complete overhall.
I should have known when I saw the outside the inside was not going to be any better.

The cleaners were nice but the front desk was rude left to go stay down the street friendly

Room Tip: no good rooms here all doors into the rooms were very warn and old not safe place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pacsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is badly out dated and run down, especially for the price. It is the highest priced hotel in the area. The staff is rude and busy doing their own thing. Family member got sick and I had to leave for a hospital, I called ASAP because I mistakenly left hang ing clothes on two hangers. Only 2 out of 7 items were returned. Staff was rude and uncaring. The items returned were under the items that were not. This was a very bad experience in a very run down hotel.

Room Tip: Over priced for value. Loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAVISITOR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Riding our motorcycles up the coast and saw this hotel and stopped for the night. What a great location. Good price for the location and convenience. The front desk attendant was so nice to make the offer and let us part our bikes under the carport overhang. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The location was great however the actual hotel sucked! We had ants in our room - everywhere. The hotel staff was rude including the manager. Mold in the bathroom. If they would update and keep it clean, it would be way better. Music every weekend night too - good but really loud when you have kids! I wont go back unless they update and hire friendly people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at Tawas Bay Beach Resort Labor Day weekend with my wife and we had a blast. It was a great last weekend of the season, They have a large beach and a beach bar with entertainment. Read some other reviews, but still thought I would give it a try. Works for us, we will be back.

Room Tip: beautiful view of Lake huron on bayside of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Tawas
2.6 mi away
Bay Inn Tawas
Bay Inn Tawas
#3 of 5 in Tawas City
82 reviews
11.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
9.8 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#2 of 10 in Oscoda
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
#1 of 2 in Au Gres
20 reviews
7.5 mi away
No photo provided
Scenic Resort
#4 of 4 in East Tawas
5 reviews
9.9 mi away
Huron House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawas Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawas Bay Beach Resort

Address: 300 E Bay St, East Tawas, MI 48730-1456 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Location: United States > Michigan > East Tawas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Tawas
Price Range: $117 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tawas Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort on Lake Huron. We have 101 rooms, a beach bar with live entertainment in season, a restaurant and lounge open year around, and 600 feet of clean sand beach. We also hold beach weddings and receptions and many business meetings each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Tawas Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawas Bay Beach Hotel East Tawas
Tawas Bay Beach East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing