We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place at Lake Huron!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tawas Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in East Tawas
East Tawas, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place at Lake Huron!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Bay Beach Resort is situated on the white beach of East Tawas. Rooms are spacious (not so trendy) and it has a good restaurant with reasonable prices and great staff. They were all very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose bayside if you're here... and secund floor if you want some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinadehaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    61
    28
    22
    48
See reviews for
62
66
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Dirty Rooms..ANTS...Terrible Hotel Never again!!! We were so looking forward to our getaway until we got away. Thought we were over charged and the staff was just rude..

Room Tip: Don't book a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Tawas hotels

Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Myself, my daughter and her boyfriend attended a wedding here in June 2012. Our entire experience was positive. Very welcoming place to stay. Nice view of water from our rooms. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have been staying in this hotel for over 5 years now and we love each and every visit there that we decided to get married there just last weekend! The location is amazing because it is right on the beach and only a block away from downtown. The staff and atmosphere at the hotel is more than can be expected because they always go out of their way to make you feel like you are at home. The food is always tasty and I have never had any complaints. Bikini's the bar outside on the beach makes the experience extra special!

I would recommend this place to everyone and anyone!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank umichcjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My daughter and her new husband chose this spot for their beach wedding. All of our big family and many friends made the trip. We were warmly welcomed by Donna at the front desk and all of the staff was very helpful to us as we unloaded our wedding"stuff", making sure the banquet room was available to us as soon as possible. Jasmine did a perfect job, having everything planned and ready. We enjoyed our rehersal dinner at the Bikini Bar after Jasmine walked us through the wedding. A great help! The setting was beautiful, and every person was friendly and helpful. I wish I knew all of their names so I could thank each one of them. The food was great and set up and clean up went so smoothly. Our rooms were clean and comphy, and all of our kids and their kids were close together. That made things easy and fun. Lots of fun time on the beach enjoying the sun and sand as well as the jet skis! Great memories!!!

Room Tip: We likeed that our family was all together on the first floor. Lots of little ones. Very quiet on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Got a better rate to stay here during softball tournament. I would have been extremely disappointed had I paid the $137 per night for the normal rate. Very old with uncomfortable beds and loud air conditioners. The shower barely spit out water. Random noises came from the water lines even when the bathroom hadn't been used for hours. For the $$ you are better off renting one of the numerous cabins along the lake shore.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimawrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My hubby and I just took a motorcycle trip around Michigan. East Tawas looked like the nicest town to stay in in that part of the state. Tons of old "resorts" north of there but they all looked like they hadn't been updated since the 50s. Then we spotted Tawas Bay Beach Resort. We were greeted by a very friendly young lady who gave us a great room on the bay. Then the owner came over and told us that since we had bikes and it was supposed to rain, we could park right under their overhang by the front door. By morning, that entryway was filled with motorcycles and grateful riders. We went to their tiki bar, Bikinis, (way cuter than you'd imagine!) and got a couple of Coronas and sat out on their nice lounge chairs on the pristine beach. It was just lovely. It was like being transported to the tropics. Our room was spacious and comfy, and the bathroom was large and nicely appointed. We had dinner at a fantastic pizza place right across the street and walked around the cute little town. Everybody was as friendly as they could be. I'd go back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There is no elevator but the bayside rooms on the second floor have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSriderMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Tawas
11.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
2.8 mi away
Bay Inn Tawas
Bay Inn Tawas
#3 of 6 in Tawas City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
9.7 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#3 of 10 in Oscoda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
#1 of 2 in Au Gres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
11.6 mi away
Oscoda Lakeside Hotel
Oscoda Lakeside Hotel
#7 of 10 in Oscoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
9.8 mi away
Huron House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawas Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawas Bay Beach Resort

Property: Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Address: 300 E Bay St, East Tawas, MI 48730-1456 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Location: United States > Michigan > East Tawas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in East Tawas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tawas Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort on Lake Huron. We have 101 rooms, a beach bar with live entertainment in season, a restaurant and lounge open year around, and 600 feet of clean sand beach. We also hold beach weddings and receptions and many business meetings each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tawas Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawas Bay Beach Hotel East Tawas
Tawas Bay Beach East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing