We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Lodging Done Right”
Review of Bambi Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Tawas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bambi Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Tawas
Michgan, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic Lodging Done Right”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We went to the E. Tawas area to enjoy the fall colors, and at this time of year the lodging options, never exactly plentiful in this region, were more limited still. To put it simply, you're not going to find a Ritz-Carleton in rural Michigan

That being said, we found the Bambi Motel to be more than adequate for our needs. It's a single-story 1960's style motel, which means that the rooms are big, the bathrooms are small, and you park right outside your door.

There's no mini-bar, but the convenience store a short walk down the street is wall-to-wall liquor. There's no pool, but they do have beach access to Lake Huron, which is just in back of the motel. There's no fitness center, but the motel is on a regional bike path that runs for several miles if you want to get some exercise. There's no basket of fancy shampoos and body washes you'll never use (all the management supplies are little bars of soap), but there's a Wal-Mart down the road where you can buy your favorite shampoo There's no business center, but the free wireless Internet connection is really fast. There's no complimentary breakfast, but they do provide coffee in the morning, and it's a short walk to the Big Boy down the street.

What you do get is an exceptionally clean and well-maintained room, tastefully decorated with wood paneling (as you see in the picture). The beds were much better than you might expect from such a low-cost motel, and we slept soundly. The room came with a decent cable TV with lots of channels. Finally, there was a mini-fridge and a small microwave oven as well as a couple of chairs and a low table, making it possible to eat at least some light meals in the room (a good thing, since dining options in the area are fairly limited). The owner and his wife were both exceptionally friendly and accommodating and they try to enforce quiet hours after 11, so you can be sure you won't be kept up all night by drunken partying as can happen at some motels.

The Bambi Motel is a no-frills kind of place, but it provides everything you really need, and does so at 1960's pricing (in the height of fall color season, our room was $60 on weekdays and $70 on the weekend). Having stayed at some four-star hotels at triple the price that were not as clean and comfortable, I would recommend the Bambi without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bambi Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
I was described recently (in a Detroit Free Press article) as being "voluble" by the reporter. I'm going to describe this guest who reviewed the Bambi Motel in the same way. I loved his review! It is sincerely an accurate and honest description of this property. Thank you:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
41
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, MI
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed at this motel in East Tawas during the 1/2 Ironman Triathalon in September 2010. The room was extremely clean and well cared for and the bed was comfortable. Excellent value for a no-frills conveniently located lodging.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myxbze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bambi Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for the GREAT review. We appreciate your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, MI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This was our first time staying at this motel after many years of driving by and thinking how neat and clean it looked. It exceeded our expectations....for an older motel, it is extremely well kept and the owners keep it immaculate. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. All of the reviews on this website are right on. It is also a great location...walking distance to town and the park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyanne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bambi Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
We're honored by your patronage. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We love the Bambi.......we stayed here for the first time last year and we are going back again this year. This is the cleanest motel you will ever stay in.....it is an older motel but they take care of this place with pride...both outside and inside. The owners are wonderful!! they will do what ever it takes to make this stay the best for you....they always have coffee every morning for the guest and there is also a micro wave for your use in the lobby..the only thing there is no beach at the motel.....but you are close enough that you can walk or ride your bike to the public beach which is also where there is shopping and places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bambi Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
What a nice compliment!. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Warm Charm describes this clean motel. The owners made my children and myself feel very welcome with that extra TLC touch, fire in the pit, friendly conversation and the baseball game on the TV for those interested. There is limited access to the beach but the location is close to town, state park and other sites. Bottom line...I would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler8677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bambi Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bambi Motel. We sincerely appreciate it! You were a charming guest:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We tried the Bambi Motel based on reviews we'd read. We especially look for CLEAN rooms. This was one of the cleanest we've ever been in. It was quiet and the beds were comfortable (especially the pillows). The flat screen TV and Wi-fi were great. The owners, Bill and Kay were very friendly and patiently answered our questions. The motel has beach access and is conveniently located to town. We got a good price as it wasn't high season yet. We will definitely stay at the Bambi Motel on ou next trip to the East Tawas area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise5062w_auto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2010

EXTREMELY clean room, polite staff, everyone was warm and welcoming, great location, walking distance into town, walking distance to Lake Huron. Great rates, less expensive than the tawas bay restort with better rooms and service. Easy to find, right off of 23, perfect place to stay and relax after hiking or just seeing the town. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewbarrierfree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Tawas
9.4 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#3 of 10 in Oscoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
11.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
3.1 mi away
Bay Inn Tawas
Bay Inn Tawas
#3 of 5 in Tawas City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
#1 of 2 in Au Gres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in East Tawas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
11.3 mi away
Oscoda Lakeside Hotel
Oscoda Lakeside Hotel
#7 of 10 in Oscoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambi Motel

Property: Bambi Motel
Address: 1100 E Bay St, East Tawas, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > East Tawas
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Tawas
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Tawas Area's preferred motels, extra clean, quiet, cable T.V., full, queen & king beds, waterfront easement, near shopping. Facilities: Motel, Air Conditioning, over half the rooms are non-smoking. NEW - wireless internet ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bambi Hotel East Tawas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing