We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lighthouse and view”

Tawas Point Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in East Tawas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice lighthouse and view”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Cute little gift shop where you can buy a ticket to tour the lighthouse. While touring the lighthouse there are lots of little historical fact. When you make your way to the top "watch your head" your greeted with a very nice view.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica1462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    34
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gladwin, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite Michigan Lighthouse”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I love this lighthouse. We were not only treated with a climb to the top, but volunteers man the lantern room and give a detailed history of the of the tower and the light. The living quarters are filled with antique furnishings from the turn of the 20th century. I've visited the light house trice and look forward to my next visit

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glad I went!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I love visiting lighthouses, especially ones that you can climb! Beautiful view and cool to see the huge lamp. Also interesting to see all the furniture from that time period. You can visit the little gift shop (this is also where you pay for the ticket for the tour, 2 dollars) and stroll the beach.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, MI
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Photogenic”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great Historical site, be prepared for the climb to the top! What a view. So many interesting facts. They have a great gift shop. Visit the beach while you are here!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Earthlyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Easy acess to interesting historical place.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Easy to find, parking is easy, beautiful view, great pictures.. history abounds, like all lighthouses do, but this is close to home and I frequently visit here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tawas Point Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Tawas Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing