We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite beach in the area.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tawas Point State Park

Tawas Point State Park
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in East Tawas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Au Gres, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite beach in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice beach, well maintained, excellent view of the lake and the bay from the boardwalk, visit the lighthouse too.

Helpful?
Thank LCMG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    34
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Clair Shores, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The beach at this park was lovely and clean. Good sand, a few rocks for collecting, and shallow water make it great for kids. We went the weekend after Labor Day and had a great time playing in the sand. The park even has some lounge chairs out along the beach, so it was comfortable for all.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank myange247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

A little open for a state park but location makes up for it.
Short walk to the beach and lighthouse with a bike path to Tawas City.
Unfortunately with low water levels, beach is non-existent. : (

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank grdault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwin, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a wonderful park. It has almost something for everyone. The campgrounds are well kept. The are several picnic areas and a spectacular playground for the kids. Tawas Point Lighthouse is located in the park where you can visit the living quarters and climb to the top for a view of both Tawas Bay and Lake Huron There are hiking trails, bike trails and best of all the beach at Tawas Point is, in my opinion, the best in the state. The bathhouse and boardwalk are top notch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Going back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visit this place several times throughout the year and it is a family tradition to walk the lighthouse and shore. I have gone in June when they were having a festival with period costume's but have also been on the 4th of July and Labor Day. Of course, the 4th is the busiest time and the beach is crowded. We enjoy going to the lighthouse and then getting in the water. It is cold water, so be aware of that. I don't swim but the kids do and they have fun. They have bathrooms, changing rooms and in the summer, a food tent that sells hot dogs and drinks. Our tradition is to get a sub and drinks in town and bring them to the beach to eat by the water. Lots of fun and kinda educational too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ireland76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tawas Point State Park also viewed

 

Been to Tawas Point State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing