We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Topsfield, MA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Marriott”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I found the dining room very nice but the quality of the food was very inconsistent with the very high prices that were charged. Service was good. Angus steaks for $33 were very small and not cooked as ordered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deucy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    107
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
60
38
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Everyone I encountered was friendly and helpful. The meeting and conference rooms we used were of adequate size and the staff kept us stocked with clean glasses and pitchers of ice water. The food for our breakfasts, breaks, and luncheon was plentiful and very good. My hotel room and bathroom were clean and roomy. Room service was prompt and the food was very good. The food costs for room service and the restaurant were a bit pricey, but probably not out of line for the area and there are plenty of alternatives within easy walking distance. I would definitely like to return here in the future.

Room Tip: My request for a room near the elevator was easily accommodated and although there were only three s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Here for one night on a business trip. The hotel is fairly outdated, with old tevisions and antiquated design. The room was comfortable, but average. I wish I had more time to explore around the hotel since its a cool area. For the price, the hotel is definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed for three nights in April 2012. Service desk employees were very pleasant and the room was very clean. Also, a great location.However, I was surprised given the price of the room to find they charged $12.95 for 24 hours of internet service, no room safe and a very outdated television with few cable stations. I would expect more given their rack rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WIlliam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Went for a weekend getaway with my husband. We wanted to be within walking distance of campus. This hotel was a perfect location. We could walk to campus and the restaurants. The staff was friendly. It was probably the quickest check-in ever. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms very updated. I would recommend this hotel. Before you get here, make sure to stop in Haslett at Burgdorf's winery. It is a small, quaint winery with a great staff and tastey wine!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPOP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here while visiting friends. It snowed quite a bit while we were there which was a treat for my our children who are Florida Natives. The room was very spacious and had a view of the office windows directly across the lobby. That was kind of interesting and we kept the curtains closed most of the time. Within walking distance of many restaurants and a CVS is directly across the street. We stayed on the concierge floor and the staff there was friendly and attentive. The breakfast was hot (oatmeal, eggs) and also had cereal, pastries, bagels, fresh fruit, etc. You could microwave bags of popcorn and take them back to your room to snack on. Front desk staff was friendly and since I was Gold Elite, we were upgraded to the concierge floor. We will definitely stay here again. Indoor pool was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnAMissi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The room was well maintained and service was attentive. There are lots of restaurants nearby within walking distance which is great since the hotel restaurant was expensive and the little restaurant on the ground floor which was kind of like a breakfast/lunch service was absolutely horrible! The food there was bad-- half burned pancakes-- and took forever. The hotel was the official hotel for the US Junior Figure Skating National Championships. I felft that there was really nothing at the hotel acknowledging the USFSA or the skaters. I was disappointed and would not stay there again just to be part of the "official" hotel. Also, you have to pay for parking at the hotel. It is only $7/night but it was kind of weird. The hotel gave us tickets to exit the garage. If you ran out you had to go back to the front desk. It also seemed liked the parking attendant didn't know how to handle the tickets.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
448 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
350 reviews
1.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#4 of 9 in East Lansing
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lansing Marriott at University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Property: East Lansing Marriott at University Place
Address: 300 M.A.C. Avenue, East Lansing, MI 48823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Lansing Marriott at University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refined stay at East Lansing Marriott at University Place. Our upscale hotel in East Lansing, Michigan offers extraordinary accommodations in the heart of downtown near Spartan Stadium and Michigan State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your East Lansing Marriott at University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lansing Marriott At University Place Hotel East Lansing
Marriott East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing