We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Meal”

Peanut Barrel Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 203 Restaurants in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Laurel, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Meal”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great place for a quick lunch. Excellent sandwiches, great outdoor ambiance and excellent service. Reasonably priced food and drinks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    35
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“didnt meet expectations”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was recommended to this place so it is probably better than when i experienced it. All bar two of the staff weren't friendly (perhaps overworked, they may have been unexpectedly busy), the food (burger and fries) was overcooked and barely edible, although cheap; one bartender took the time to talk to me about the beer and advised me well. I suspect this place makes its money as a student drinking barn during semester.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SASG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thank goodness some things stay the same!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The business strip across Grand River Avenue from Michigan State University changes constantly, but the Peanut Barrel persists--like a living fossil, only better tasting! Hardy Michiganians start sitting in the outdoor patio as soon as temperatures rise above 50 degrees, or the sun is out. You go for burgers and beer. Or just beer. The indoor dining experience changed drastically for the good when the no-smoking laws went into effect.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CriticalGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant for Lunch Across from MSU”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I ate lunch here while visiting Michigan State University recently and were not disappointed. Food was good & very reasonably priced, service good, and ambiance good.

It was a nice sunny day and we sat on the patio out front which offers ample people watching opportunity. The restaurant is located on Grand River Ave. across from MSU. The patio has about 10-11 black wrought iron umbrella tables, is separated from the walk by a low railing and ornamental hedge, additional shade is provided by two large trees, and the is a nice fountain adjacent to the area.

I ordered an Olive Burger with tomato (they offer a number of burgers) which came with a pickle and I substituted potato salad for the fries which normally come with it. My wife had a Reuben sandwich. We both thought our sandwiches were very good!

They also have a good selection of beers and other beverages. We had beers and tried their Long Island Tea. The Long Island Tea was only average. We do plan to go back but will skip the Tea for beer!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't beat the outdoor seating”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was a beautiful day, we sat outside. The waitress wasn't great, but she wasn't horrible. The food was good. Bloody Mary was a little on the spicy side (and I like spicy food). I couldn't finish it because of the heat. Sandwiches and fries were great, but it was more about being at a great establishment with lots of memories.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSUmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peanut Barrel Restaurant also viewed

East Lansing, Ingham County
East Lansing, Ingham County
 
East Lansing, Ingham County
Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to Peanut Barrel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing