We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ethiopian Cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altu's Ethiopian Cuisine

Altu's Ethiopian Cuisine
Ranked #18 of 201 Restaurants in East Lansing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mason, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ethiopian Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I started eating Ethiopian food 17 years ago in Detroit, MI. Altu's unfortunetely the only Ethiopian restaurant in the Lansing area. There food is good, but not as good as The Blue Nile's. The salad is always hit or miss. You either get fresh lettuce or you don't. The cabbage is always bland, but their lentils and beans are usually good. The man that usually runs the front counter is never very friendly like the owner is.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shundra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A friendly place with very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stopped in to Altu's after an MSU Basketball game. We were orignally a little hesitant to go in as the resteraunt is located in a small, older strip mall. Not a strong curb appeal. However, when you go inside everything changes. The wait staff was very friendly and happy to have us there. We choose the traditional ethiopian tables which added to the experience. The food was very good. We had the platters of vegtable and meat. When they say a platter is for 3 people that is pretty close especially when you are hungry. It was a great meal and an enjoyable experience. We were able to eat for about for about $17 per person with tip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This is my all time favorite place to eat. I so love coming here. Their spicy lamb, their lima beans, the spicy lentils, the cabbage. OMG! I love it all! Don't miss coming here. Some people don't particularly love the injera bread, but they should try the dishes on rice. That is equally delicious.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MITripGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Lansing and East Lansing area has really grown over the years, especially when it comes to food. We are really lucky to have some of our local food establishments. One of them is Altu's, and I've been eating there for eleven years. They offer very tasty, hearty food and wonderful atmosphere. They're friendly and attentive, and the price is reasonable.

My daughter and I always share a plate because they give you a nice portion of food. I especially love their collard greens and cabbage, and the salad dressing is a favorite of mine. They really should bottle it and sell it. I don't like the Ethiopian bread - it's too sour for me - so I always order rice. I have never been disappointed with anything I've had there, except that I wish their side portions were a little bigger. But for the price, I'm not complaining.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawniemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favorite East Lansing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Ok, maybe you can get better Ethiopian food in San Francisco and Washington, D.C., as another reviewer wrote, but this is East Lansing, MICHIGAN! IMHO, Altu's serves the BEST Ethiopian food between the two coasts. We've been going there since our two kids were very young (they are now in college) and even they loved the "Meat and Veggie Feast for Three" that became our usual order. We love the "bread" (injera; it's a sourdough, and it is different from every other kind of "bread" so maybe that is why the other reviewer didn't like it?) It would be a shame to order rice without at least trying the bread! Altu and her staff are welcoming and always ready to advise newcomers. We are treated as family when we visit and feel very lucky to have Altu's in our community.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CriticalGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altu's Ethiopian Cuisine also viewed

East Lansing, Ingham County
East Lansing, Ingham County
 
East Lansing, Ingham County
East Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to Altu's Ethiopian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing