We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and Delicious”

Altu's Ethiopian Cuisine
Ranked #21 of 203 Restaurants in East Lansing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Different and Delicious”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I've been coming here for many years on my various trips to East Lansing. The food is always good. It's very flavorful and especially nice because it's uncommon. It's also very healthy - at least the many vegetarian options are. I recommend giving this place a try if you're an adventurous eater.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peznbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Different type of food”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you have tried the Ethiopian food before it and you have liked that, don't miss this one.
But if it is your first time, you have to be aware about your choice.
It is a pleasant place for sitting and having your meal, but the special Ethiopian bread was not delicious, have your meal with rice and enjoy it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank alisonbanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good ethopian...”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The food and service are good, thought it was a little pricey but overall something different and interesting to get in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank margozinha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley National Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome little place to eat!”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

There are not too many restaurants where I can say that I have enjoyed every visit but in this case I can. Food is very good but somewhat eclectic so I recommend checking out the menu first before you decide to dine there. The food is a little spicy but not extremely hot so don't let that turn you off. The Spicy Lentils dish is my personal favorite.
The place is small and can be busy so be prepared for a wait on some nights but well worth it.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Widges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, nice change of pace”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I had only been to Altu's once before, a year or two ago. I'm so glad I got reacquainted with this place! The Ethiopian flatbread has a unique taste, so some people may not like it. It's worth trying though. I had the vegetarian dinner where I got to choose four different items. My favorite was the white peas & potatoes. The spicy pinto beans have a nice kick to them, too. I am looking forward to my next visit - I've heard the stews are fantastic...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merridew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altu's Ethiopian Cuisine also viewed

East Lansing, Ingham County
East Lansing, Ingham County
 
Lansing, Ingham County
East Lansing, Ingham County
 
East Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to Altu's Ethiopian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing