We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild exterior; but dishonest display mars experience”

Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum
Attraction details
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
261 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wild exterior; but dishonest display mars experience”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My first visit was fun, as long as I didn't look too closely at the art. You can all make up your own mind about the exterior, but our entire group was dismayed (some were outraged) by the display in the basement room, where a clearly erroneous set of markers were attached to a set of objects that were mislabeled, apparently deliberately.

I despise politically correct art, and this was beyond politically correct. It was dishonest. The supposed pieces of art are in a display that includes supposed comic books, supposed swords from the 15th century, and other supposed works from supposedly persecuted artists. One of the people named in the exhibits was, indeed, persecuted by the government. However, that was 500 years ago, it was not in the United States, and the sword displayed here was clearly not associated with that noble person. I have no idea about the authenticity (or, more accurately, "degree of fictitiousness") attached to the others.

If you want to go to a museum that has only real art from real people, you might want to ask a curator when the sophomore pranks will end and the actual art will come to the gallery.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank plamichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    29
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesport, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exhibits that challenge the imagination in a venue that is full of light and architectural innovation and free to all.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The exhibits change regularly and all challenge our ideas of what art is supposed to be. Art can be the presence or absence of space and the museum gives you a lot of space to consider this. Docents are very helpful. There are some wheelchairs and if you call ahead they'll meet you outside with one. Children's interactive area, gift shop and refreshment bar. Check online for programs and hours. Closed on Mondays.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mainelytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing building; fascinating exhibit: Patterns”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The art show Patterns is a beautiful exhibit. Each piece has a unique story, and as a collection it tells the story of patterns, based both on nature and technology, in contemporary art. The art is beautiful and it highlights the patterns of the museum itself. Fun visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruthgass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great addition to MSU”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The art is very good but the building is as interesting as the content. Really nice to have this investment in MSU.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank raymondw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Space Odyssey”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Watching the building slowly develop from the ground up for many months, I opted to withhold my assessment until it was finished. From the outside, it looks like a spaceship or a giant sea creature with fins and gills. One observer suggested it be called "The Louver" because of the slats and because Paris already has The Louvre. It opened last fall, but it wasn't until this spring that I went inside. Wow, what an experience! If space is the final frontier, the Broad has taken a giant leap. The unique structure on the edge of the beautiful Micchigan State campus lends itself to displaying art pieces large and small, especially the large. The openness allows for interaction with art from many perspectives. Some musuems crowd things together. The Broad offers time and space to contemplate. I also found the staff is friendly and helpful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sanmigueleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum also viewed

East Lansing, Ingham County
East Lansing, Ingham County
 
East Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing