We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of MSU Dairy Store

MSU Dairy Store
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Two locations (please list both seperately) One is in the Student Union building on campus, one store is at the production plant.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I visited the main store in Anthony Hall yesterday and wanted to try several flavors. I didn't count, but it did not seem like there were 32 flavors available, as their web site states. I got a waffle cone with coconut chocolate almond, cookies and cream, and Husker's sweet corn. The scoop of cookies and cream seemed a bit small and the scoop of Husker's sweet corn on top was even smaller. Probably a good thing though, since I could barely finish the thing, but still not cool considering the cone cost $4.75. The coconut chocolate almond was very good, as was the cookies and cream. The corn ice cream was good, but tasted mostly like french vanilla with just a tiny hint of corn flavor in the background, even though I could see little pieces of corn in it. I found a few chunks of ice, approximately the size of a pea, in the corn ice cream, which should not be in a good ice cream that is stored properly, so that was disappointing. Overall, it was very good ice cream, but not any better than Melting Moments or a very good quality store bought ice cream.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaydul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    49
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very tasty ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

MSU diary store gives me the feeling that it's very clean and you're contributing to the university. It's a kind of feeling that you help yourself via supporting the community. Their chocolate ice cream is overwhelmingly one of the best i have ever tasted, and the price is so cheap. Only thing, they could make the store bigger and had better tables, so you would enjoy your time there better rather than going and taking a to-go ice cream cup.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eyupcivelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity
Level Contributor
251 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Cream on Game Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We heard about MSU Dairy prior to our trip to MSU and had to give it a try. WOW, is about all I can say. My daughter says it was the best ice cream she has ever had. I had the Maizen Blue which is a golden vanilla with blueberries and pie crust mixed in, Delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“THE Place for Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're in East Lansing and are looking for a snack this is the place to go. Wonderful premium ice cream at a reasonable price. Wonderful, unique flavors. I was surprised at how little 2 cones cost us with my Alumni discount - about what you'd pay for 1 cone at most premium ice cream shops.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce_n_Kathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sweet Goodness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The MSU Dairy store is a must if you are anywhere near MSU. They have a main store in Anthony Hall but have a smaller one in the Union. Beware the Union does not carry all the flavors. The Ice cream is made by the school and it is delicious. All flavors tried were good. The names of the ice creams deal with the school or other big 10 schools. Feel free to ask what is in them and they are more than happy to tell you and give you a sample. Be aware that because it is so popular that there is sometimes a line and they do close early, usually at 8pm but check times as they do change.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZincPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MSU Dairy Store also viewed

East Lansing, Ingham County
East Lansing, Ingham County
 
East Lansing, Ingham County
Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to MSU Dairy Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing