We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MSU Dairy Store

MSU Dairy Store
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Two locations (please list both seperately) One is in the Student Union building on campus, one store is at the production plant.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went to the MSU Dairy Store while in town for a hockey tournament. I had a green and white swirl that tasted like birthday cake ice cream. The kids had something hockey-related with small chocolate pucks in it. It was good, and I'd definitely go there again. It's not "WOW!" though, like The Creamery at Penn State. Overall, if you're looking for ice cream this is the place to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nockian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    47
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Do not miss tasting the ice cream at the Dairy Store if you are on campus. There is easy meter parking outside the front door and you can go upstairs to watch the process in action if you're there before 3 PM weekdays. The flavors are a little hard to decipher (hand-written signs and not too much of an explanation of what exactly is in the flavor). If there is a long line you kind of feel like you need to hurry along and not check out the looks of each flavor. However, I've never had anything awful here so probably any flavor is a special treat no mattter what is in it!!
Buy some MSU-produced cheese, too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wow! Freshly made ice cream from MSU's dairy herd was great! You can definitely taste the freshness and goodness of the ice cream. As an added bonus, if it's before 4 pm, you can watch the folks making ice cream from the viewing room!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flounder73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallville, IN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Operating on a tip from an MSU Alum, I decided to treat my family to a treat at the MSU Dairy Store. A treat it was too! I was shocked by the line out the doors, but everybody I talked to in line raved about how great the ice cream was so I continued feeding the parking meter (10min/$0.25). After about 1/2 hr, we finally made it to the counter and were overwhelmed by the choices initially. I decided to try three different scoops (Purdue Boilermaker, Ohio St. Buckeye, and Cookies-n-Cream). Each was amazing and my wife and son raved about theirs as well. I doubt you can go wrong and the prices are more than reasonable, especially for the quality.

**Tip: Don't expect to get in/out of this place in a timely manner. The lines are usually lengthy and you should allot at least 1/2 hr to be able to get your taste of heaven. Just park in a 2 hr spot and feed the meter. It'd really suck to have to leave the line after waiting (luckily my wife and kids were in line with me). Unfortunately, many people weren't prepared to wait and had to leave before ordering.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bsu1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
780 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“The best Ice Cream in the Lansing area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

MSU Dairy store has some very good ice cream.

I usually go to the smaller store in the Student Union, rather than at the main location (near Farm Lane).

I get to East Lansing only a few times a year to see the excellant festivals held downtown, (The Great Lakes Folk Festival in August is my favorite).

The Ice cream is rich, creamy and fresh. There are some unique flavors you won't find anywhere else... these are the best (Big 10 flavors).

I only know of a couple ice cream places in Michigan that have better ice cream, but the drive to those are over two hours away. (Moomer's of Traverse City, and Calder's in Lincoln Park).

My all time favorite ice cream in all the world is Graeter's (Ohio).


Ok... time for a change of subject... Cheese.

The MSU dairy store has the best cheese curds, at the best price in Michigan. Only "Squeeky Cheese" in Wisconsin is better, but you'll pay the price there.

The line can get VERY long during East Lansing festivals, but it's worth the wait (even when the air conditioning is turned off).

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MSU Dairy Store also viewed

East Lansing, Ingham County
East Lansing, Ingham County
 
East Lansing, Ingham County
East Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to MSU Dairy Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing