We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Manager at this Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 East Lansing/University Area
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Adrian, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No Manager at this Motel”
Reviewed April 2, 2007

Super 8 East Lansing - No Manager
March 17, 2007
We stayed at this motel & we were not pleased. First booked right thru the motel. We were told what the price would be & that we would have a free Superstart Breakfast.(6:30-9:30). We check in Sat. & we were over charged & told the clerk & she said that she could not do anything about it to talk to the manager he would be in at 8:00 am. We went down for breakfast (9:00 am) & there was NOTHIG, just a coffee maker & a toaster. We asked for the manager & were told that he wasn't there, told the guy what we were told the night before & he called a girl out & asked if she was the manager she said no & asked when he would be in & we were told that he comes in "once in a blue moon". She told us she could fix our bill. The room was dark they had put 60 watt bulbs in the lamps & the bed spreads hung on the floor, & the room smelled bad. I wrote an e-mail to Super 8 & have not gotten a response from them. We usally stay in Super 8 Motels, but afer this we are thinking twice about it, we will just have to pay a little more & go to a differnt chain. So if you go to East Lansing stay away from Super 8 Motel.

  • Liked — NOTHING!
  • Disliked — the room!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    24
    54
    147
See reviews for
74
33
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
GR, MI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

This was the worst room I have ever stayed in. I would have left the place,but was not familiar with the area and strapped for money.
Drapes were partially off track. Smelled like old urine. Carpet looked new but was greasy feeling. Sink dribbled water and pipes under sink leaked. Shower faucet fell off in my hand (but worked after I put it back in place). Paint was flaking off bathtub itself and floated around my ankles as I took a shower (drain didn't work very well). Wind whistled around the door and single-paned windows. Broken board in window for security. Locks on door did not look secure (I moved all the furniture I could in front of door and window).I could list more but this is already getting long.
On the plus side....linens were all clean and bright white. Toilet was clean (I had to pry lid from the seat because of disinfectant glueing them together).

  • Disliked — See above!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank malkewke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Lansing hotels

Wixom, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2006

We rented two rooms for two nights during Homecoming weekend. The rooms had a VERY STRONG smell of disinfectant (like a nirsing home) and the floor near the window was "spongy" (possibly a subfloor problem). I went to the office to let them know two lightbulbs were burned out, they didn't have any new ones. There was hair on the bathroom floor and there was not a mirror by the sink. No hair dryer in room despite their advertising there would be. Therer was food particles on the floor (chips?0 which obviously was not vaccummed. I would not advise anyone to stay at this motel.

  • Liked — close to campus
  • Disliked — Smelly, dirty room, dirty bathroom, spongy floor, not vacuumed. no mirror by sink
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay here.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2006

Please disregard all the 5 star ratings that go on and on about how courteous and professional the staff is. The staff is NOT professional, in fact who hired these people? Common people please realize that the staff are the one's writing these rave reviews. Yes the location is nice and I do realize that you get what you pay for, but if you take nothing more from this... HEED THE WARNINGS! Read all the negitave posts below and you will have a true feel for what to expect! This place is wreched, and they should be charged with false advertising. The pictures do not do these rooms justice, as the pictures posted are far and away better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here, at 3 am you'll be sorry
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank salcrolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

This hotel is in a good location and reasonably priced. I know you get what you pay for, but there were a few issues at the hotel with cleanliness. The staff tried to be accomodating and courteous.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank FreshFruitSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 10, 2006

I stayed here while visiting a few friends at Michigan State University and was greatly impressed with the stay. The staff was extremely friendly and the room was overall very clean and professional for the low price. The closeness to the campus was also a plus. Definately will stay again next time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2003

It is by far the most disgusting hotel i have ever been too. Not only were there dirty rugs, there were pubic hairs left in the bathtub, no alarm clock , the remote didn't work, the bathroom door didn't shut, and none of the locks were very secure which was quite scary in a noisy hall full of poor drunks. Along with this, the sheets were soiled and looked disgusting, anyone who slept in it probably had scabies previously and when i walked into the room, there was a rope of twine tied to one of the chairs. Either it was something disturbingly kinky or someone left it there from a previous kidnapping. Along with this conclusion, the only thing fresh in there was the paint on the bathroom door that covered dark stains. It looked as if someone had been killed there. It is NOT a place to stay and if you want to risk it, go ahead. But you might not make it through the night.....

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
3.0 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
352 reviews
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
#20 of 25 in Lansing
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#3 of 9 in East Lansing
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 East Lansing/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 East Lansing/University Area

Property: Super 8 East Lansing/University Area
Address: 2736 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823-4720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 East Lansing/University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 East Lansing/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 University/ East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Super 8 East Lansing
East Lansing Super Eight
East Lansing Super 8
Super Eight East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing