We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 East Lansing/University Area
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Worst hotel ever, located in a bad area, hotel should be bull dozed. This hotel should not carry the Super 8 brand.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolene59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 East Lansing/University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 253 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

The Super 8 in East Lansing was horrible. Seriously bad. I half expected to find a chalk outline of a body on the carpet.

We were in town to watch the Final Four tournament in which MSU played. This place was so bad I slept on the bed with my clothes on. To say it was dirty is an understatement. The bathroom was enough to make you gag with spiders under washcloths, etc. And there was the most vile, indescribable smell.

Fortunately, we got toasted at a local bar. There's no way we could've slept here if we hadn't.

Do yourself a favor: Stay anywhere in E Lansing but here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had guaranteed reservations for a handicapped room at the Super 8 E Lansing/University Area last Friday. When we arrived, the room we were given was simply not acceptable. It was too small for a manual wheelchair, and would have been inaccessible for a scooter. Incredibly, it had an approximately 1” step at the front door and at the restroom entrance (I had to go in backwards). Entry to the commode required a sharp 90o turn through a door that was too narrow for a wheelchair, and the room would have been too small to transfer (but I couldn’t get in anyway). There were no grab bars at either the tub or commode. It was a handicapped room in name only, and the manager didn’t seem to understand what a handicapped room needed. We asked that the desk clerk make suitable arrangements for us at another location (which he reluctantly did). My wife also talked with other (not handicapped) customers who were upset about their accommodations too.

James D. Holdeman
N Ridgeville, OH 44039

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PereMarquette1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

First of all let me say that this motel is definitely dated. Decor is aging to say the least, but we have been in dated motels and that is tolerable when it's clean, but this was about the worst one we have ever stayed in in terms of cleanliness. The carpeting had a dust edge around it as though it had not been thoroughly cleaned in probably a year or more. As we looked around there were areas a vacuum could reach that were dirty. A mirror was cleaned only 3/4 of the way up where the person cleaning it could not reach any farther. A lamp didn't work. At least one of the plugs didn't work and one that did was unsafely NOT covered. The visible box springs had bad stains. The bedspreads were dirty on the under side. The heater is so loud you can't sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelertraversecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

The location was great, conventional and close to MSU. There are restaurants nearby and close to the mall. Also The rooms are good enough for what I paid.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Was $60 for a night which is a good price, but for my experience it should have been $6 a night.

The configuration and basic ammenities are fine but there were a few problems that should not have been problems if they actually took time to maintain the place.

Bedside table and remote and chair arms were all sticky with some substance that I cannot describe.

Carpet was sticky so I couldn't even walk around in socks.

Old newspaper from over a month ago was still in the bedside table drawer along with a couple other pieces of what should be garbage.

Phone in room didn't work as with the room of another guy that was staying there.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank rhymobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

This hotel is in dire need of a remodel. The furnishings were old and rundown, we stayed two nights - no maid service was provided, beds were old and saggy. I'm surprised Super 8 would even let their name be associated with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bigosfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
3.0 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 26 in Lansing
357 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
#20 of 26 in Lansing
179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#4 of 9 in East Lansing
42 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 East Lansing/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 East Lansing/University Area

Address: 2736 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823-4720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range: $63 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 East Lansing/University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 East Lansing/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 University/ East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Super 8 East Lansing
East Lansing Super Eight
East Lansing Super 8
Super Eight East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing