We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
buffalo
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Was a great deal. TV did not work and that's annoying because I fall asleep with the TV on and like to watch the news in the morning. Beds comfy, good size bathroom. Would stay there again if I could be sure the TV worked.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djlamlBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    60
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
35
24
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Our son is a third year veterinary student at MSU. Periodically we visit him; but this was our first visit in the wintertime. The first thing I was happy to see was a thermostat in our room that could be set at our comfort. (It was bitterly cold outside). The room was spotlessly clean. The kitchen was well stock and sparkling. The bathroom was spotless. The closet had an ironing board. The bathroom had a hair dryer (that worked!!!) The bed and pillows were great. The staff at the front desk was friendly and very helpful. There is a small food store near the lobby with a freezer full of things to put in our microwave and a pantry stocked with snacks and light breakfast foods. (We arrived late on a holiday, and there were no restaurants open). We bought Stouffers microwavable frozen meals and retired to our room to eat and fall asleep in front of the TV. (Just like home (-: ) The Candlewood Cupboard is a wonderful idea! and reasonably priced. Oh, you can also get pints of Haagen Daz ice cream! It's great for tired travelers who want to eat and retire to their rooms. All in all this an excellent hotel. We went to a cheap tickets website and saved a ton of money on our stay for an incredible value. Two cons, hardly worth mentioning. There is a weird leatherette bed "ruffle" that was falling off. Hey, Candlewood, those things need to go. Also, bring your own toilettries, which we do anyway. If you're expecting a basket of sample goodies, you won't find it here - but, you can purchase anything you forget a the Cupboard. We forgot toothpaste. One more thing - there are no vegetarian dinner options in the freezer, so my vegetarian husband had oatmeal for dinner. (He didn't complain). Stay at this hotel and you will be very satisfied.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hotdoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The Candlewood Suites is a great hotel on the campus of Michigan State University. The hotel is located directly on the first tee of the West course on Forest Akers golf course. Forest Akers, particularly the West course, is an outstanding golf course, so this hotel would be an ideal place to stay if you are a golfer. Unfortunately, I stayed in the hotel in February, so golf was not an option for me.

Despite this, I had a positive stay. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel was quiet, and the staff was helpful and friendly. There is plenty of parking and the hotel is literally 5 minutes from anywhere, including campus and downtown Lansing and East Lansing. The hotel is very reasonably priced. In fact, it had the lowest price of all the hotels I considered in the Lansing/East Lansing area prior to my visit. This was remarkable, given that the Candlewood had a better location than most, if not all, of its competitors.

The only complaint was that I had trouble getting hot water in the shower. However, I was pretty hungover when I took a shower, so it is possible that I was too out-of-it to figure out how to work the controls. However, you may want to check to make sure the hotel isn't limiting hot water as part of some b.s. "eco friendly" program that seems to be so popular on college campuses. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again on my next visit (pending confirmation on the hot water issue).

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank spartanfan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights over the Labor Day weekend 2008 when we were attending the wedding on the MSU campus of the son of good friends of ours .

The hotel is conveniently located just two minutes off the M-127 freeway (exit 11). It is attached to a very large convention center and to the MSU university club. (When you sign in, you are given a card that gives you temporary university club privileges for the length of your stay). It also directly overlooks the MSU golf course. The hotel is about five minutes by car from the MSU main campus, and about 15-20 minutes by car from downtown Lansing. It is not exactly remote, but you definitely need a car to get around, and it is certainly not in the center of things. There is plenty of free, lighted parking.

Check-in was quick and pleasant. The staff is very cordial and well trained. When you leave, there is express check-out.

The suite we stayed in was spacious, well appointed, and very clean. There was a separate bedroom with its own TV. The bathroom was spacious and spotless. (The linens were of very high quality.) The living area had a large TV, a roll-out sofa, a reclining chair and a coffee table. This was separated from the kitchen by a large built in table. The kitchen had a full-size refrigerator, a full-size microwave, a toaster, a two burner stove top, and a dishwasher and sink (w/ garbage disposal.) There was plenty of cupboard space, and a variety of cooking and eating utensils and dishware. There were also two large closets (with an iron and ironing board).

The climate control worked very well. We were always very comfortable, and the room is well sound-proofed. The windows also open, if you like.

The hotel does not have its own dining facilities (but during the week you may use the university club, which is part of the complex). Of course there is the kitchen in your suite, and the hotel provides a variety of frozen foods and other goodies in its “Cupboard” (next to the lobby), where you pay for what you take on the honor system. Prices were very reasonable.

The university club (to which you have access) offers a wonderful outdoor pool and lounging area, right off the golf course.

If you like privacy, comfort, and peace and quiet when you stay in the Lansing/E. Lansing area, it is hard to beat this hotel. The one drawback for some people might be its distance from the university and city.

  • Liked — Its convenience and comfort; great value for the dollar
  • Disliked — a bit distant from things
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

The staff was wonderful & the room was very spacious. It has a full kitchen, even dishes & dishwasher. They are not luxury rooms but clean & comfortable. I will be staying here again for my next trip to East Lansing. I highly recommend over the Kellogg Center!

  • Liked — the kitchen in the room
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hjeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Great value for the price. It is connected to the MSU exceutive center through an internal pathway. So, people staying in the hotel can enjoy the facilities in the center for a nominal fee, specially the nice gym and the restaurant. The rooms are basic but nice. Great view of the golf course throough the window. Courtious staff at the check in counter.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank relaxed_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

A so-so hotel. Bed not very comfy and has no access on the right side since it's pushed up almost against the wall. Well-equipped kitchen, poorly stocked snack shop. No dining facilities were available on the Sunday evening of my arrival. Remote location and no restaurants available unless you have a car or are willing to rely on taxis - also not too readily available on Sundays. There were only two taxis at the airport and no shuttles to the hotel. I was so lucky that I got the last available rental car.

  • Liked — Fairly comfortable room. Not very clean. Well equipped kitchen.
  • Disliked — Remote location; no dining facilities on Sunday; nowhere to go unless you have a car.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kangaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
2.4 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
449 reviews
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
350 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#4 of 9 in East Lansing
38 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U

Property: Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
Address: 3545 Forest Rd, East Lansing, MI 48910-3734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing-a Quality Excellence Award winner for 2 consecutive years-is located on the Michigan State University (MSU) campus and is attached to the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development, a state-of-the-art conference and convention facility and the prestigious University Club of MSU. The Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing is conveniently located just a few minutes from the Michigan State Capitol, downtown Lansing, Michigan State University, The Wharton Center for performing Arts and Forest Akers Golf Course. With our excellent location with our friendly and relaxing atmosphere, the Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing is the best choice for the business traveler. The hotel, which is now a 100% smoke free environment offers high-speed Internet access, our signature Candlewood Cupboard (convenience store), complimentary laundry facility, a quaint fitness center or access to the University Club Full Service Fitness Facility. Pets are welcome (additional fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing m.s.u Hotel East Lansing
Candlewood East Lansing
East Lansing Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing