We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Swim at the nearby MSU outdoor pool. Walk across the street for dinner at the Brody Food Court ($9). Enjoy the botanical gardens nearby. Covered parking. Watch the Canadian news on the cable tv. Yes the rooms are small and the bathroom (and shower) different. This was a womens dorm back in the day. The $5 annoying resort fee (I guess universities are now resorts so let's go for it) speaks for itself. Best choice in Lansing area. (Also, have a microbrew at nearby Harrison Road House and a snack at Quality Dairy--both nearby). Did I forget to mention the great staff (including those in hospitality training). If you want a generic chain experience, stay elsewhere. Otherwise, stay here and ask for a room facing the Red Cedar River.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We appreciate your recognition of the uniqueness of our wonderful campus hotel and your praise for our staff and hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    91
    54
    18
    13
See reviews for
49
24
19
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The "standard rooms" are very small compared to modern hotel rooms, ask for a "Luxury" room if space is important to you. This is an older property the desk clerk said it was originally built in the 1950s for the University to train future hotel and restaurant managers.

That being said a majority of staff are college students. The Shuttle service is very limited going only to the Lansing airport or train station unless prior arrangements are made with the manager (expect to pay a fee.). Shuttle service is only available 7:00am to 10:00pm otherwise they will call a taxi (which you must pay for).

The rate they quote you on the phone MIGHT NOT include the 13% taxes or the absurd $5.00 per day "Hotel Fee" and associated 6% sales tax for the fee be sure to check. I was told the fee covers the expenses of parking in the parking garage, the wireless internet, shuttle service to and from the airport and coffee in the room. Which had always been included with the hotel rate during my prior visits.

This is a limited service hotel. Food and beverage operations cease at 10:00pm normally and do not resume until 6:30am. The State Room restaurant tries to assert it self as high end dinning and while the food is acceptable you may want to consider other options outside the hotel if convenient and especially if you want to impress a dinner guest.

Only SOME of the luxury class rooms have in room fridges and they do not garrentee they can honor a request for a room with one.

There is no pool on site however you can get a pass to use the University's gym and pool from the front desk.

The walls are thin bring ear plugs especially if it is an MSU home football game weekend.

Some of the decor is severely dated trapped forever in 1985 while other parts of the hotel are modern but the decor is very beige, bland and somewhat uninteresting.

The showers in the majority of rooms are "European Style" (Think Soviet Union circa 1975), they are absurd and get water all over the bathroom you can literally sit on the toilet and take a shower at the same time. there is no lip to catch the water around the shower area. Demand a tub but expect to pay more for the privilege.

In short I only stay here if I have direct business to transact with Michigan State University otherwise I'd much rather be at another property.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Luxury class room with a tub. Unless you have fond memories of Soviet Russia you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with the services you received during your recent stay at our hotel. We are a university hotel and although we are an older building, we have have been diligent in updating our facility. We had limited space with which to work when we were renovating our rooms and designed them in a manner in which the space would be utilized in the most efficient way possible.

As you mentioned we do offer larger rooms with tubs which can be requested when making a reservation or at check-in if available.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The room was fine. The bathroom is a bit strange. It had a shower in the corner with no place to capture the water--it sprayed on the bathroom floor which was tilted a bit so the water tended to drain in that direction. But it also wet pretty much all of the bathroom floor. I'm familiar with this kind of thing for disabled people but never seen it in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. The standard bathrooms are on the small side, but we do have larger rooms with tubs which can be requested when making your reservation or at the time of check-in if available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, ny
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel has excellent staff. Everyone I met was very nice. There is only one restaurant in the hotel which was a little pricey and really didn't have any casual eating options. The rooms do not have tubs just a small corner shower. The floor of the shower is the floor of the bathroom. Also the heating/cooling doesn't work well. Either really hot or really cold. The blanet on the bed was way too thin but I like my comforters . there is free parking in the garage that is connected to the hotel. Overall, it was not a bad hotel. Only wish is that they had more eating options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karma318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your interaction with our staff. We put customer service as our first priority and it is wonderful to receive this type of feedback. In regards to casual eating, we offer a small plates menu in our restaurant lounge for those with lighter appetites.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are Spartans and attend a lot of MSU events. However, we always stay a the Kellogg Center as the staff, rooms, breakfasts, bar are amazing. The cost is a little higher than other hotel, however, worth it. Parking is right there inside. The bathrooms are small and a little unique, but, it's all part of the charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zekeferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Recently, stayed at the MSU Kellogg Center while my wife was involved in a conference. I worked from the rooms while she attended her meetings. The rooms are tight to say the least with double beds. Very little room to move around the room. Bathroom is small with a unique corner shower (no enclosure) and curtain. Visitors need to remember that the original intent of the Center is for a Continuing Education Center and was not built as common hotel we see today. The Center fulfills its mission as an educational center, with a very convenient location on campus with IACC certified meeting rooms. The restaurant was very good with excellent service. Attached free garage parking. Nice stay and would stay again when I have the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a queen bed as they have a little extra room to move around in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boilersarebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Second stay at this hotel for a conference. Again, the level of dust in the room is excessive. The room has the feel of not being so clean. The room is very small and efficient - sort of Japanese in design. The shower is just a corner of the bathroom and the whole floor gets wet.

The saving grace, again, is the staff. Friendly and enthusiastic, mainly college students.

The conference accommodations are great, no complaints.

If you are here for a conference, it's convenient and OK for one or two nights, unless you have a roommate, and if you are not going to stay in the room a lot. If you are looking for luxury, keep looking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping department and used as we continue to train our staff and fine-tune our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.7 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
1.0 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
453 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#2 of 9 in East Lansing
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 219 S Harrison Rd, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI 48824-4551
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Michigan State University hotel gives you access to the best in Spartan activities and attractions in East Lansing, Michigan. Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center's prime location on the MSU campus gives you proximity to cultural, educational and athletic events, unique shopping, numerous dining options, museums and much more. Accommodations The Kellogg Center has 160 comfortable, contemporary guestrooms that boast pay-per-view movies, Wi-Fi, flat-screen televisions, plush bedding and more. Dining Housed in the Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center, the State Room Restaurant and lounge is one of the finest restaurants in the area, with an award-winning wine list, diverse seasonal menus, and private dining rooms. The restaurant received the 2015 Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for the tenth year in a row. Gift Shop The Shop at Kellogg carries a wide variety of MSU logoed clothing, gifts, and souvenirs, as well as sundries, magazines, newspapers, books and an assortment of snack items. Hours are 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Monday-Thursday, 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Friday and Saturday, and 7 a.m.-3 p.m. on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Hotel And East Lansing
Kellogg Hotel East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing