We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, okay rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Syracuse, ny
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice staff, okay rooms!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel has excellent staff. Everyone I met was very nice. There is only one restaurant in the hotel which was a little pricey and really didn't have any casual eating options. The rooms do not have tubs just a small corner shower. The floor of the shower is the floor of the bathroom. Also the heating/cooling doesn't work well. Either really hot or really cold. The blanet on the bed was way too thin but I like my comforters . there is free parking in the garage that is connected to the hotel. Overall, it was not a bad hotel. Only wish is that they had more eating options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karma318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your interaction with our staff. We put customer service as our first priority and it is wonderful to receive this type of feedback. In regards to casual eating, we offer a small plates menu in our restaurant lounge for those with lighter appetites.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    87
    52
    16
    13
See reviews for
46
22
18
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are Spartans and attend a lot of MSU events. However, we always stay a the Kellogg Center as the staff, rooms, breakfasts, bar are amazing. The cost is a little higher than other hotel, however, worth it. Parking is right there inside. The bathrooms are small and a little unique, but, it's all part of the charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zekeferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Recently, stayed at the MSU Kellogg Center while my wife was involved in a conference. I worked from the rooms while she attended her meetings. The rooms are tight to say the least with double beds. Very little room to move around the room. Bathroom is small with a unique corner shower (no enclosure) and curtain. Visitors need to remember that the original intent of the Center is for a Continuing Education Center and was not built as common hotel we see today. The Center fulfills its mission as an educational center, with a very convenient location on campus with IACC certified meeting rooms. The restaurant was very good with excellent service. Attached free garage parking. Nice stay and would stay again when I have the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a queen bed as they have a little extra room to move around in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boilersarebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Second stay at this hotel for a conference. Again, the level of dust in the room is excessive. The room has the feel of not being so clean. The room is very small and efficient - sort of Japanese in design. The shower is just a corner of the bathroom and the whole floor gets wet.

The saving grace, again, is the staff. Friendly and enthusiastic, mainly college students.

The conference accommodations are great, no complaints.

If you are here for a conference, it's convenient and OK for one or two nights, unless you have a roommate, and if you are not going to stay in the room a lot. If you are looking for luxury, keep looking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping department and used as we continue to train our staff and fine-tune our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Was visiting Michigan State with my daughter and the hotel is smack in the middle of campus. The hotel was average at best. Out dated, rooms were very small and the bathroom was like a shoe-box with the shower head coming out of the ceiling with a drain on the floor (no tub). Staff was very pleasant, but you’re really paying for the location. I would stay again only for the convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry you found our room design unsatisfactory but we have tried to utilize the space in the most efficient way possible. We do have larger rooms with more conventional bathrooms which can be requested at the time of your reservation or at check-in if available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This property is on the campus of Michigan State. I was here for about 9 days for the World Dwarf Games in 2013. The first part of our stay we had a spacious room with a huge bathroom and tub, which was nicely laid out. The problem was that the housekeeping was atrocious after day 1. Surfaces were not cleaned or wiped down, and were obviously dusty. The sweeper was run, if at all, not well. Clean glasses were not exchanged for used one. Housekeeping therefore lacked attention to detail and was just sloppy and haphazard. The second room we were in was tiny, with barely enough room to squeeze by the end of the bed. This is one of the rooms you'll see discussed among these pages. The bathroom was quite small as well, with the shower streaming directly onto the bathroom floor. This would not be a satisfactory guest room to me, and I'm glad we were in there for just a couple of days. Overall, the common areas are well kept up, catering services were good, and desk staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant is quite good as well. The property just needs to pay better attention to its basics -- a clean room throughout the stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from Double Double rooms with the shower built into the bathroom proper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at the Kellogg Center. I want to apologize for the problem you encountered with your guest room. It is our goal to provide the best guest experience possible, and it is quite apparent this goal was not met. Your comments were shared with our housekeeping department and will be used as we continue to train staff and fine- tune our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Once again the Kellogg Center hosted our annual gala fundraiser and once again the staff and amenities were outstanding.

My room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. I had a very restful night and slept deeply, and that is something that doesn't happen easily for me as I suffer with fibromyalgia pain.

The catering staff did an excellent job with the appetizers served at the gala and the staff were very attentive to make sure the serving station was always well stocked. The food was absolutely delicious.

After the event, we visited the State Room. The cheese burger I ordered was one of the best I have ever eaten. Thick, juicy, and cooked to perfection. The bar also served superb Tanqueray and tonic - the bartenders in the State Room do a very generous pour when it comes to spirits! Our server Jennifer was a delight and made our late night meal very pleasant. She provided excellent service, was very friendly, and highly attentive. She was just one of many employed at the Kellogg Center who made my stay a very pleasant experience.

I highly recommend a stay at the Kellogg Center if you are planning a visit to the Lansing area, whether for a conference, meeting, or to enjoy a sporting event on the beautiful campus of Michigan State University.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieD734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our facility! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.7 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.0 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 219 S Harrison Rd, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI 48824-4551
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Michigan State University hotel gives you access to the best in Spartan activities and attractions in East Lansing, Michigan. Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center's prime location on the MSU campus gives you proximity to cultural, educational and athletic events, unique shopping, numerous dining options, museums and much more. Accommodations The Kellogg Center has 160 comfortable, contemporary guestrooms that boast pay-per-view movies, Wi-Fi, flat-screen televisions, plush bedding and more. Dining Housed in the Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center, the State Room Restaurant and lounge is one of the finest restaurants in the area, with an award-winning wine list, diverse seasonal menus, and private dining rooms. The restaurant received the 2015 Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for the tenth year in a row. Gift Shop The Shop at Kellogg carries a wide variety of MSU logoed clothing, gifts, and souvenirs, as well as sundries, magazines, newspapers, books and an assortment of snack items. Hours are 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Monday-Thursday, 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Friday and Saturday, and 7 a.m.-3 p.m. on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Hotel And East Lansing
Kellogg Hotel East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing