We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel on edge of MSU campus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on edge of MSU campus”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My room was very nice and clean, and seemed recently renovated - especially the bathroom. Great views and lots of windows on the top floor!

Very convenient to have the conference rooms for the program I attended in the same building. I had one catered group dinner in the hotel and the food was pretty good. It was a 15-20 minute walk to an area with lots of restaurants. There was also a newly built dining hall directly across the street that was pricey and busy but had good food.

Customer service here was very good -- after I booked online they emailed to ask if I needed a pickup by their free shuttle service from the Michigan Flyer bus dropoff location nearby. Thanks for the offer! I did that and the free shuttle was convenient with friendly drivers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have great views and lots of natural light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvocadoInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay here at the Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center. Your vantage point gives us the best critique of our facility and services. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your positive comments.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    83
    49
    16
    13
See reviews for
44
22
17
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed one night in a small suite room with our children as we wanted to show our children the MSU campus, my husband being an alumni. When we woke up, I was covered in bites on my back and parts of lower torso. My husband promptly called the front desk to speak with a manager. The manager did not do anything and informed my husband that the hotel had never had a bed bug problem. When we returned home, we did some research as my bites continued to itch and I had never had a rash or bites like this before! The bites were in the classic bed bug presentation of a line known as "breakfast, lunch and dinner" and I had random other bites. I contacted the hotel several times. At no point did anyone apologize or offer to clean our luggage, which I informed them still remains in our garage as we do not want to have an infestation in our home. One manager did confirm that the hotel had a bed bug problem "about a year ago," but that a housekeeping staff did not see any bugs in our room. We asked what they were doing to eradicate the problem. I was appalled that being a hospitality school and the association with MSU that the management never apologized nor offered any compensation for this terrible stay in their bug infested room!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to respond to the posting on July 13, 2012, in which a guest suggested she had been bitten by bed bugs while staying at our hotel. The guest contacted us regarding her concerns and asked to have the issue investigated. It is the policy of our hotel to investigate thoroughly all guest complaints and provide compensation for any loss or inconvenience for which we are found culpable. Upon hearing from her regarding her symptoms, we not only sent our own housekeeping staff in to check for evidence, but also called the University Pest Control Service who did a thorough inspection of the room she was in and found no evidence of bed bugs. She was subsequently advised of these findings and offered a copy of the professional’s report.

Beg bugs are introduced to hotels by guest luggage and clothing which can carry and harbor the eggs of the parasite for long periods of time. This is why hotels worldwide, including ours, train their personnel to do thorough inspections of mattresses and bedding on a routine basis. Since many bug bites emulate one another in symptoms and appearance, it is often difficult for the lay person to distinguish one insect bite from another or to know when and where they actually had the exposure. It is always advisable when you have such concerns to consult your health care provider to get an informed diagnosis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It's old, and the room was showing its age a bit, but it was large, everything worked, even the internet which others seem to have had problems with. Friendly reception, unless you wanted something out of the routine. Good airport transfer service. Worst part was the in-house bar in the evening - attractive to look at but staffed by a young guy who was very resentful of any customer interrupting his conversation with a female friend of his. Complaints to reception and later emailed to management went unanswered. I guess at a place like this they don't need repeat business, they certainly don't seem to want it. (There's a good bar five minutes walk to the north - the Harrison Roadhouse)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SASG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The staff and the meeting rooms are great. However, the sleeping rooms are small, poorly lighted, and the halls are very noisy. The internet service is very difficulty to get on and you have to deal with the University IT Desk. Once you get on, it works, but it takes forever to get on.

Rooms are not well stocked with coffee cups or coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickb1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The perfect location for our one night MSU college visit. Especially convienient for out of state visitors without a car as its within walking distance to the main campus facilities, restaurants and shops. Fast check in by efficient and friendly receptionist. The double room was nicely decorated and had a sitting area with a sofa and TV which could be watched from the bed. Coffee and tea was provided. The bathroom was small and the shower, which was a drain in the floor with a curtain around it, resulted in a wet bathroom floor. A major design flaw and only issue during our stay..

The hotel has a conveience store and restaurant in the lobby. A wide selecton was offered at the breakfast buffet with helpful staff there too. The hotel provides shuttle service from Lansing airport and to other campus buildings and restaurants. Just schedule before hand. We had a very pleasant, knowledgeable shuttle driver who was kind enough to give us a personal tour of the campus. Excellent staff at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel is well appointed, with business friendly amenities. The rooms are small but nicely decorated. The room service is typical (slightly cold upon arrival and expensive). The staff are all well trained and happy to help. In all I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

From the very beginning of our search for a location to host a meeting, the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center representatives were friendly, helpful and available to us whenever our deadlines required decisions, especially Sue Lindstrom and Beth Rhodes. Every step of the way they were a great resource and encouragement for novice hosts.

The meeting rooms were aesthetic and comfortable, the staff were always available and helpful, and the rooms for onsite guests were very spacious and comfortable although I do agree with Ethan S. that they may want to consider remodeling some of the bathrooms to include the expected enclosed bathtub. Everything ran very smoothly and we heard nothing but praise and admiration for the meeting site.

The food for meeting participants was excellent with wonderful and friendly service staff. The onsite restaurant and lounge were very also very nice places and the Kellogg Center is also a great location within walking distance of many East Lansing hot spots for adventurous visitors.

I highly recommend the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center for meeting hosts in the East Lansing and Lansing areas.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very roomy, especially for meeting hosts with extra materials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.7 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
223 reviews
1.0 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Lansing
328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 219 S Harrison Rd, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI 48824-4551
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Michigan State University hotel gives you access to the best in Spartan activities and attractions in East Lansing, Michigan. Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center's prime location on the MSU campus gives you proximity to cultural, educational and athletic events, unique shopping, numerous dining options, museums and much more. Accommodations The Kellogg Center has 160 comfortable, contemporary guestrooms that boast pay-per-view movies, Wi-Fi, flat-screen televisions, plush bedding and more. Dining Housed in the Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center, the State Room Restaurant and lounge is one of the finest restaurants in the area, with an award-winning wine list, diverse seasonal menus, and private dining rooms. The restaurant received the 2015 Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for the tenth year in a row. Gift Shop The Shop at Kellogg carries a wide variety of MSU logoed clothing, gifts, and souvenirs, as well as sundries, magazines, newspapers, books and an assortment of snack items. Hours are 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Monday-Thursday, 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Friday and Saturday, and 7 a.m.-3 p.m. on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Hotel And East Lansing
Kellogg Hotel East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing