We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay close to MSU” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites East Lansing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
483 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay close to MSU”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Michigan State University booked me here when I gave a recent lecture. Delightful. Clean. My room had a full kitchen. This is definitely the place to stay if you are on an extended stay in East Lansing. Unfortunately I only had two days. Could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marciahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich P, Manager at TownePlace Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am so glad you had an excellent stay! We are close to the MSU campus and our full Kitchen allows you the oppertunity to cook what you like! We have just ordered new Mattresses and boxsprings! Hope to see you soon! Rich P. Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    34
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
8
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great location! Directly across the street from the main road of campus. Set up as efficiency apartment with double bed, pull out couch (double bed) large desk with storage and a great closet. The kitchen is small, fully equipped and what you would expect. Great off campus housing for students (depending on budget) or for visiting students or attending events.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklyn711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent one night here prior to our duaghter's orientation at Michigan State, and this was extremely convenient to the campus. It's located across the street from the south edge of campus in a quiet area (in fairness, however, there are train tracks close to the hotel). Our two bedroom suite had everything we needed (small kitchenette, three TVs living room) and was as clean as one could ask for. Unfortunately we didn't think ahead and bring our bathing suits, because the pool would have been a welcome relief to the 100+ temperatures. Our greeting from the clerk on duty was cordial and helpful. Our room was on the third floor at the end of the hall, a quiet location. This will be the first place we check out when we return to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My daughter and I loved the two-bedroom suite. It had a kitchenette and dining area, plus enough TVs to suit a big family with diverse viewing interests. It was close to my sister and brother-in-law's in Okemos where we attended our family reunion. Beautiful green areas all around and nice for walking. Close to MSU where my brother-in-law works. Also near the not-to-be-missed MSU dairy store where Ice Cream 101 students get to make and sell their delicious creations.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, recommended by my niece who chose the hotel for family visitors. The ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trainfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We enjoyed staying in a two-bedroom suite in this hotel when we visited East Lansing to attend our grandson's graduation from Michigan State University. Five of us stayed at the hotel for three nights. Suite was well furnished. Although the hotel was not on campus, it was only a short drive to all of the activities that we particpated in during graduation weekend. Continental breakfast was adequate. Hotel location was in a very quiet area a couple of blocks from the main street. Hotel was very clean. A good choice for our family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deucy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great long term suite type rooms with full kitchen. Minutes from U of M campus. Walking distance to a few restaurants/stores. Nice green spaces next to hotel, feels like your out in the woods. Only complaint is that the TV is small and ancient, worked fine though.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I definitely stayed at better hotels. What really blew my mind away was the 19 inch tube tv that was bolted on the metal tv stand swivel. Not that I watch a lot of tv, but just shows how outdated this place was. It felt like I was in a dorm room basically. My 3rd morning there, I went outside to have my smoke since this hotel is all nonsmoking (which is fine). Before I did, I started a fresh pot of coffee, TV was left on, iron was on, and all my belongings were out. I came back from my smoke and the cleaning lady was cleaning my room. I walked into the room, and she said she was sorry that she didn't know I was still on the property. OK, a fresh pot of coffee STILL brewing?? So I went into the restroom to finish getting ready for work, as I was straigtening my hair- she comes behind me and says I need to get the trash. I told her to wait, and she continues on to get the trash. It was an ok stay, but like I said I've stayed at way better hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#3 of 9 in East Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
1.7 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites East Lansing

Property: TownePlace Suites East Lansing
Address: 2855 Hannah Blvd, East Lansing, MI 48823-5367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites East Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott, East Lansing is located on the Souteast edge of Michigan State University accross from the Michigan Athletic Club. All of our suites offer full kitchens. Breakfast M-F 6:30am to 9:00am. S-S 7:00am to 9:30am. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your TownePlace Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
East Lansing Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing