We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good-Serviceable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good-Serviceable”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I have just returned from a two night stay. My friends and I had rented 3 suites, with three men sleeping in each suite. The suites were ideal for our needs as they were equipped with two bedrooms and a pull out coach. The bedrooms were fine with plenty of pillows which I like. The room had a kitchen with a full size refrigerator. All said, the room was good.
The staff upon check in was very helpful and friendly.
The bad: too often a trains rolls through town honking it's horn at all hours of the day and night.
The room had two tv which is very nice. however the tv were from the 1985-90 era, no exaggeration. They were about 16inches in size and the one in my bedroom would turn off by itself after being on for 30 seconds....rendering itself useless.
Room 231.
The stay was not all bad and the bad points were not really worth complaining about to management. Watching tv in bed was not very important but sleeping is and I would imagine the could not prevent the trains fom ripping through town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
9
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Presque Isle, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed overnight with 2 friends so attend Jersey Boys at the MSU Wharton Center, which was only several block away from the hotel. Our 2 bedroom suite was roomy, clean and had an apartment size kitchen. Breakfast was good, but the room was rather crowded. Even so, we felt it was an excellent room for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Everything we could have wanted for a weekend trip to visit family living in nearby Okemos. We selected the place due to location, pet-friendly accommodations and Marriott brand as my husband has preferred status.

We we both very impressed with how clean the place was kept. A good selection at the daily continental breakfast with coffee, cereals, yogurt, pop tarts and fruit was an added bonus that I did not see advertised on the website.

A couple minor gripes:

Thin walls
Flimsy mattress

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid-August. Although we got there at 6:30pm, our room wasn't ready. The desk clerk was quite flustered due to pulled fire alarms and laundry not completed. She apologized endlessly about our room. We went into our room knowing that the bed was not made as we had dinner reservations and needed to change our clothes. After dinner, when we returned to our room, we found the room ready and a box of truffles waiting on the counter of the kitchen along with a note of apology. We had difficulty sleeping as the bed caused us to roll to the middle and the nearby trains blared their horns throughout the night. Breakfast was provided and is was good. The front desk was very helpful. However, my husband and I were unable to get a good night's rest due to the trains so we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The rooms are clean and the little kitchen was great. There is a microwave, small stove, refrigerator and dishwasher. Some water appeared on the floor due to a possible leak in the dishwasher. Housekeeping showed within 5 minutes of our phone call. They were extremely apologetic, cleaned up the water and gave us some ice cream for our troubles. We were satisfied with the room. The decor is okay...a little dated and the tvs are old. But overall, I would highly recommend this hotel...secluded location, accommodating staff.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jmm0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We were in town visiting family and stayed one night. We needed a suite since we have 3 children including an infant. My husband reserved a 1-bedroom suite thinking that the two older boys (7 and 9) would stay on the sleeper sofa. We walked into our room and discovered the 2-bedroom suite. He checked with the front desk to make sure they hadn't made a mistake, and we were informed that they had given us a complimentary upgrade. Sweet! Overall the room was clean and the carpet looked new. I did notice a long, black hair in the tub when I was bathing the baby. There was also a big, brown stain outside of our room on the carpet. Hubby told the front desk about it before we left. The kitchen is awesome with appliances, dishes, etc. You could do plenty of cooking in there. There is even a small stove with an oven. Our family of five had plenty of room. I would consider paying extra for the 2-bedroom suite. It was nice the boys had their own "room." The outdoor pool is very small which we never used. The exercise room is very nice with towels and water provided. The breakfast is VERY BASIC so if you're looking for eggs, etc. you need to go down the street to IHOP or Coral Gables. The hotel chain is very up-front about what is exactly at the breakfast station. Oatmeal, packaged muffins, cereal, canned juice, coffee, granola/cereal bars, pop-tarts. It met our need for a quick bite. The hotel is next to the Hannah Center which has several ethnic restaurants as well as Jimmy John's. It is also located right across from Michigan State University. This hotel was perfect for us since it was a 5-minute drive to where our family lives. Free Wi-fi but I did have some issues with it on my NookColor. It would connect and then at times have trouble connecting. Not a big deal. Also, if you're looking for newer TV's then you better stay somewhere else. No flat-screens yet but didn't matter to us. Tip: during the winter months, you may want to request to stay in the main building where the lobby is located. We were in the other building which was fine since it was summer. Our room was also near the stairs, so at times I could hear people walking up the stairs but overall the room was quiet. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Colder months-request a room in the main building where the lobby is located, otherwise you'll h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2read68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My son attended basketball camp at MSU for a week so we stayed at TownePlace Suites. A couple of things that we were looking for when we were making plans: A suite with a refrigerator/microwave, a pool, something close to MSU and something affordable. We selected this establishment because of the reviews we read and it seemed to have everything we were wanting in a location. The reality is that it is exactly what we expected! The room was cozy with a little kitchen with a refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, microwave, etc. The was a nice desk for the computer to access the wireless internet, which was free! The pool is outdoors and small, but nice to sit by when we had down time and of course our son had no problem swimming. The hotel is in a perfect location in relation to MSU and everything else in the area. In the context to what we were looking for combined with a GREAT price ($100 a night), I am rating this establishment EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Top floor is our preference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msullivan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#2 of 9 in East Lansing
42 reviews
1.7 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
453 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites East Lansing

Property: TownePlace Suites East Lansing
Address: 2855 Hannah Blvd, East Lansing, MI 48823-5367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites East Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott, East Lansing is located on the Souteast edge of Michigan State University accross from the Michigan Athletic Club. All of our suites offer full kitchens. Breakfast M-F 6:30am to 9:00am. S-S 7:00am to 9:30am. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
East Lansing Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing