We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag - Not a Typical New Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Based on the few reviews on this property here to date, and that it was a new(er) H.I. Express I decided to stay for 2 nights on a business trip to MSU. But as I found out, this not the typical new HI Express that I find in most parts of the country.

First - the staff is really nice, very accommodating and hard working. Even gave me a lower rate upon check-in when I mentioned I was there for business with MSU. I slept good and the hotel was surprisingly quiet considering the things I'll list below.

Second, while new, this is pretty much a bare-bones H.I. Express, and does not have the touches or modern decor in the rooms or hallways that other new H.I. Express' do, and is much more spartan. The construction of the place is poor - get a top-floor room or you'll likely hear your neighbors above. Despite being across the street and a ways away from the freeway, the traffic noise is extremely noticeable from the highway. They used poor window that aren't the least bit insulated, so if you don't have the heat or A/C on high you're going to hear quite a bit of road noise - I actually had to check to see if a) the window was open and b) if there really was a window at all when I got in the room.

While it has the Holiday Inn Express name and logo on it, It really seemed to be more a Super 8-type property based on my experience. Speaking of which, I think it is overpriced for what you get. And for some reason they seem to have a lack of king-size beds too.

The property was very clean - however I couldn't give it a stellar rating for that because somehow the housekeeping staff did not clean my room when I left for the day at 10:00 a.m. - there was no DND sign on the door or any notification from the hotel why they didn't clean the room.

While I get to the Lansing area a few times a year on business, I would try someplace else before going back here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 117 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

Upon arrival, the one staff member working at the front desk was very friendly and talkative. However, the room was warm and muggy - given, it was a hot and smoggy day outside. However, they could've turned the AC on in the room by 3:00pm (check-in time at the hotel) so that it would be comfortable by the time we arrived. Otherwise, the room was very clean, shower and bathroom in general was fine. The location of the hotel was also relatively near an Applebee's and a grocery store, but overall the area that the hotel was in was not very nice. The free breakfast wasn't very good either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molsonthemaggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Typical HX hotel and brand new. Clean quiet and good breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stayed here over the weekend to celebrate a family birthday. The hotel is very new, just under a year old. Upon check-in we were upgraded to a suite, free of charge. The suite had a king size bed, good bedding, flat screen hdtv, desk, loveseat (hide-a-bed), coffee table and a small kitchen area with mini-fridge and microwave.
The room was very clean, smelled fresh and the kitchen area was stocked with paper towels, disposable plates and cutlery, cups and coffee items.
The pool area was nice, very clean. Our only disappointment was the lack of a hot tub. Fitness center was basic, two treadmills, bike, hand weights and exercise ball. Everything was clean and in working order.
We checked out the free breakfast spread the next morning. It was pretty good, a variety of hot and cold choices. The coffee, tea and hot chocolate area was open and available all day, which was nice.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, quickly accommodating our request for a late check-out and extra towels.

Overall, our stay was great and we were happy to find a nice hotel on the North side of Lansing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vermeerstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 26 in Lansing
291 reviews
4.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lansing at Eastwood
1.5 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 26 in Lansing
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing

Address: 2924 West Rd, East Lansing, MI 48823-1391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range: $102 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The newest East Lansing hotel the Holiday Inn Express & Suites East Lansing, MI is located near the Michigan State University (MSU) campus and the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development, a state-of-the-art conference and convention facility, and the prestigious University Club of MSU. This East Lansing hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes from the Michigan State Capitol, downtown Lansing, Michigan State University, The Wharton Center of Performing Arts & Forest Akers Golf Course. For the corporate traveler we also are near; General Motors, Deloitte, Pfizer & KPMG.We offer our hot breakfast bar daily for all guest at all rates featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls, fitness and business center and a refreshing heated indoor pool. Our East Lansing hotel will exceed your expectations. Our East Lansing hotel offers relaxing rooms featuring stylish decor & amenities, including 32 HDTV with HBO, CNN, ESPN and FoxNews, wired/wireless HSIA and the best night sleep ever. Our Holiday Inn Express East Lansing hotel is your home away from home. Our Holiday Inn Express East Lansing, MI professional & friendly staff will welcome you to your home away from home. Once you stay, you will come back time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing