We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Location was great and the hotel was clean and fairly new. Only issue was noise as lots of people and groups of children stay here and therefore your room is not quiet even at night. Breakfast was included but was not very good and a group of kids demolished it before I had the chance to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Write_On_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 117 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was our second stay. Perfect for date nights because of the big whirlpool tubs in the rooms. The large rooms are clean. No fridge or microwave in the rooms. Bath room has a small shower kit instead of a tub shower. Nice looking pool area. Four stars instead of five because of very dirty carpets in the hallways. Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelChick2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

big rooms, nice selection of breakfast items in a large, comfortable room, and friendly, helpful staff. Unless you like Applebees and Burger King, you'll need a car to get anywhere, though.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jschombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The rooms are clean and updated. Bathrooms are well appointed and VERY clean. Staff is very pleasant and accomadating. Breakfast area was clean and comfortable(staff working the breakfast area was very helpful and constantly making sure that the area was well stocked). Located close to restarants and shopping malls. Close to many attractions. Well lite parking.
Well worth the cost!!

Room Tip: stayed on third floor during MSU home game. very quiet. room was king bed-very spacious room. air fl...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meme789456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I am a frequent traveler and the Holiday Inn Express chain has been one of the brands I have stayed in around the country. This one is sub-par. The quality is all pretty low. While the room is OK and clean, the towels are very thin and rough. The toilet paper is all one-ply, which for the price of this hotel just seems cheap. The breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express, but the person working the room was rude and things were still being put out a half hour after the breakfast started. Finally I have a lot of points with this chain (high level club member) yet they put me in a room right next to the vending machine, which was so loud all night I could not sleep.

Overall, I do not recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express for a Spartan Football game. It’s just a few miles from campus, a quick couple of minutes down the expressway. It’s on West road which is a little tricky to find. When you exit the expressway the GPS didn’t have a chance to warn you about the next turn. The hotel location is a little deserted, a lot of office buildings next door. Not within walking distance of any restaurants, while it looked safe, the roads where dark with not many street lights. There is a Kroger, Meijers close by and plenty of restaurants a ½ mile away and many more across the expressway.
The hotel lobby is nice and check in was quick and efficient. We had a third floor room, spacious room a bit bigger than most hotel rooms; bathroom was good sized and looked to be recently updated. Nice selection of pillows to choose from but the beds weren’t the best. While I have slept on worse they had a plastic mat that crinkled when you moved and seemed reflect the heat back to you making it hot. I thought it was just me but others said the same thing. A nice pillow top mattress pad would have made for a better sleep.
While we came on a football weekend and expected the crowd to be a little rowdy, the thin walls made it hard to sleep. Flushed toilets sound like the water is rushing right next to you and doors close with the sound of a gunshot. This with uncomfortable beds made for poor sleeping.
We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast served. Nice choice of breads, muffins, yogurt and cereal. The main course was and egg and cheese omelet, bacon and patty sausage. While it’s not a gourmet meal, it was a nice way to start the day. It was well maintained and never seemed to run low.
It was family weekend and MSU so the room rates were inflated. I paid $150 a night and considering the room I would call that on the high side. The place is only worth the weekday rate ($95).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quikdog42389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Pros: Double room was large and appeared clean. Beds were comfortable with nice selection of pillows. Very safe location with a lot of shopping and restaurants nearby. Free internet. Hot breakfast.

Cons: My room smelled! I can't pinpoint the smell but it was unpleasant. The staff were functional but weren't overly helpful. The pool was FREEZING cold. Also there were a lot of small annoyances: lame treadmills, no ice machine on my floor (2), no gravy for biscuits and gravy, a fly buzzing in my room, and no tv guide/menu.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 26 in Lansing
292 reviews
2.3 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lansing at Eastwood
1.5 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 26 in Lansing
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing

Address: 2924 West Rd, East Lansing, MI 48823-1391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range: $102 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The newest East Lansing hotel the Holiday Inn Express & Suites East Lansing, MI is located near the Michigan State University (MSU) campus and the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development, a state-of-the-art conference and convention facility, and the prestigious University Club of MSU. This East Lansing hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes from the Michigan State Capitol, downtown Lansing, Michigan State University, The Wharton Center of Performing Arts & Forest Akers Golf Course. For the corporate traveler we also are near; General Motors, Deloitte, Pfizer & KPMG.We offer our hot breakfast bar daily for all guest at all rates featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls, fitness and business center and a refreshing heated indoor pool. Our East Lansing hotel will exceed your expectations. Our East Lansing hotel offers relaxing rooms featuring stylish decor & amenities, including 32 HDTV with HBO, CNN, ESPN and FoxNews, wired/wireless HSIA and the best night sleep ever. Our Holiday Inn Express East Lansing hotel is your home away from home. Our Holiday Inn Express East Lansing, MI professional & friendly staff will welcome you to your home away from home. Once you stay, you will come back time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing