We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Venice, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I am a frequent traveler and the Holiday Inn Express chain has been one of the brands I have stayed in around the country. This one is sub-par. The quality is all pretty low. While the room is OK and clean, the towels are very thin and rough. The toilet paper is all one-ply, which for the price of this hotel just seems cheap. The breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express, but the person working the room was rude and things were still being put out a half hour after the breakfast started. Finally I have a lot of points with this chain (high level club member) yet they put me in a room right next to the vending machine, which was so loud all night I could not sleep.

Overall, I do not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    27
    8
    10
See reviews for
43
12
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express for a Spartan Football game. It’s just a few miles from campus, a quick couple of minutes down the expressway. It’s on West road which is a little tricky to find. When you exit the expressway the GPS didn’t have a chance to warn you about the next turn. The hotel location is a little deserted, a lot of office buildings next door. Not within walking distance of any restaurants, while it looked safe, the roads where dark with not many street lights. There is a Kroger, Meijers close by and plenty of restaurants a ½ mile away and many more across the expressway.
The hotel lobby is nice and check in was quick and efficient. We had a third floor room, spacious room a bit bigger than most hotel rooms; bathroom was good sized and looked to be recently updated. Nice selection of pillows to choose from but the beds weren’t the best. While I have slept on worse they had a plastic mat that crinkled when you moved and seemed reflect the heat back to you making it hot. I thought it was just me but others said the same thing. A nice pillow top mattress pad would have made for a better sleep.
While we came on a football weekend and expected the crowd to be a little rowdy, the thin walls made it hard to sleep. Flushed toilets sound like the water is rushing right next to you and doors close with the sound of a gunshot. This with uncomfortable beds made for poor sleeping.
We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast served. Nice choice of breads, muffins, yogurt and cereal. The main course was and egg and cheese omelet, bacon and patty sausage. While it’s not a gourmet meal, it was a nice way to start the day. It was well maintained and never seemed to run low.
It was family weekend and MSU so the room rates were inflated. I paid $150 a night and considering the room I would call that on the high side. The place is only worth the weekday rate ($95).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quikdog42389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Lansing hotels

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Pros: Double room was large and appeared clean. Beds were comfortable with nice selection of pillows. Very safe location with a lot of shopping and restaurants nearby. Free internet. Hot breakfast.

Cons: My room smelled! I can't pinpoint the smell but it was unpleasant. The staff were functional but weren't overly helpful. The pool was FREEZING cold. Also there were a lot of small annoyances: lame treadmills, no ice machine on my floor (2), no gravy for biscuits and gravy, a fly buzzing in my room, and no tv guide/menu.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed two nights while attending a nearby conference. The room was clean and pleasant, located across from the pool. Staff were helpful. The continental breakfast was well laid out and even offered fresh pancakes. Several nice restaurants and good shopping nearby.
However, I do feel it was overpriced ($165/night) for a place that was nice but nothing fancy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, IN
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

As others have posted, the hotel is difficult to find the first time. However, the room (suite size) was large, clean, and comfortable. The bed was very nice. Breakfast was good, and staff was friendly. A nice place to stay.

However, they raised the price of the room by $100 that night because of a big MSU game. Also because of the game the place was packed with revelers. They gave us a room on the second floor, in the front, and directly above the entrance. The noise until 4 a.m. was too much for me to sleep. In addition, the room above us must have been populated by elephants – late into the night and early morning they also helped keep me awake.

While the big game was not the hotel’s fault, I would recommend staying on the top floor and not in the front by the entrance. It was disappointing that for so much extra money I got only two hours of sleep.

Room Tip: In back on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieHighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Booked a room here after discovering there was no vacancy at the nearby Hampton Inn - and because we wanted to be close to the MSU campus. I was pleasantly surprised - this is probably the nicest HI Express I've stayed in.

The staff was very friendly - only down side was that the elevator was out of commission the night we stayed but we were offered a 1st floor room which we declined and hoofed it to the 3rd floor. No problem.

Had a 2-queen room and it was huge and very clean. Felt like a new hotel. Had a large breakfast and lobby area, and even had cookies out for guests upon arrival. Also had hot chocolate packets available for evening use and this was the first HI Express I've seen do that as well - others only put it out at breakfast. Very quiet location and again, nice and clean and modern. Very fast internet connection on the business center computer. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgergirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

If you have some flexibility in where you stay in the E.L. area, you can save some money by checking around. Our AARP rate for Sunday night was $113, which is higher than what I have been paying, but I hadn't checked around much. When I mentioned we would need a room for the following Tuesday night, I was told the AARP rate would be $132. I used their wifi and went online- used mapquest and trip advisor and found several motels out at Okemos Road and I-96 with rooms much cheaper than that. I booked the Comfort Inn at above location for $72 AARP. It was just as nice and the location did not matter to us. Both places worked just as well.

Don't get me wrong- there is nothing the matter with this HI Express. In fact, their hot breakfast is great- especially the hot cinnamon rolls. Unless you are going to the convention center adjacent, check around for a better rate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upbeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
266 reviews
2.3 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
1.5 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Lansing
Courtyard Lansing
#8 of 25 in Lansing
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Address: 2924 West Rd, East Lansing, MI 48823-1391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The newest East Lansing hotel the Holiday Inn Express & Suites East Lansing, MI is located near the Michigan State University (MSU) campus and the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development, a state-of-the-art conference and convention facility, and the prestigious University Club of MSU. This East Lansing hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes from the Michigan State Capitol, downtown Lansing, Michigan State University, The Wharton Center of Performing Arts & Forest Akers Golf Course. For the corporate traveler we also are near; General Motors, Deloitte, Pfizer & KPMG.We offer our hot breakfast bar daily for all guest at all rates featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls, fitness and business center and a refreshing heated indoor pool. Our East Lansing hotel will exceed your expectations. Our East Lansing hotel offers relaxing rooms featuring stylish decor & amenities, including 32 HDTV with HBO, CNN, ESPN and FoxNews, wired/wireless HSIA and the best night sleep ever. Our Holiday Inn Express East Lansing hotel is your home away from home. Our Holiday Inn Express East Lansing, MI professional & friendly staff will welcome you to your home away from home. Once you stay, you will come back time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing