We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Dundee
Nearby Hotels
$90
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super Motel(Luna Pier)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
31
34
27
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
34
27
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswould stay againindoor poolplace to eathot showerthe maintenance manmanager robertmy cousinlooked greatseveral times a yearmake your own waffleseasy accessnice roomnice stayfree breakfastmotelcerealpets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 126 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel we have stayed in at least a handful of times. We take our kids there, get the King Suite with hot tub, spend the day with them swimming in the pool and hot tub, use the suite, which actually looks over the entire pool atrium for breaks, and lunch. This hotel when we first started doing this in the winter was way underrated. Unfortunately at this time it is lackluster and should be avoided. It needs a deep cleaning. We check in Saturday, 2/2 at 5pm, Here is what was wrong :

No Ice at all - machines are broke - all of them. (how is that even possible)
Hot tub roped off, other guests swimming in pool advised they were told it was like that for months, not good.
Doors on building inoperable, you have to park clear at the end of the building and walk all the way back to the front of the hotel, all because the card reader is broken. (how can't you afford to fix the card reader?)

We've stayed in this King suite before as I have mentioned, since we were there last, approximately 3 months ago, here is what I have noticed. Room used to be meticulously clean, hot tub meticulously clean, tiles around the actual hot tub always clean no mold at all. This room looks haggard. It need bleach all around the hot tub. Because we have little kids, this is how I roll - with bleach cleaner and lysol. This tub got the absolute best cleaning it's had in Idk how long. I did not get all mold off the tiles it needs a scrub brush. My husband is still mad about the ice machine.

Will we go back? probably not, since we started going there they used to be the Quality inn and Suites, now they are just the Quality inn. I would not be surprised if it's not even downgraded to an econo lodge in the next 6 months becuase Choice Hotels shouldn't even let them operate the way they are.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrfuji08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert I, General Manager at Quality Inn Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We are sorry that your recent stay at our hotel fell below your expectations. We have recently taken many steps to improve the hotel and fix the things you mentioned. We have replaced the ice machine and repaired the rear entrance door. Unfortunately, we have filled in our hot tub in the pool area, but the pool is still operating well and is open all day till midnight. We have also redone our breakfast area and are currently working on the outside of the hotel on our parking lot to improve its appearance. As always, our staff is working hard to provide the guest service you are looking for and I would like to invite you back to the hotel to see the improvements we've done. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have stayed at this property 2 times in the last 3 weeks. Unfortunately the outcome has not changed any. The first time was during the snow storrm and was happy to just get off the road. First room I was given, walked in and there was no heat and the pipes at the sink was frozen. Turn the heater on and let it run for almost 20 min and the room never warmed up. So I contacted the front desk and the front desk clerk apologized and came up to find me another room. which was slim due to the storm the second room was slightly better but not much.
on the second trip I decided to give them a second try unfortunately it was the same outcome. although there was no storm still had issues with heater working in 2 different rooms. upon checking out i explained the problems to the clerk and was told next time ask for a room on the other side of the building. The heaters on that side can't keep up.
The rooms were clean and the linen was fresh the furnishings are out dated and missing what seem to be chairs or desk in one of the rooms.

Room Tip: if it is windy ask for even number room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snuggles416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina E, General Manager at Quality Inn Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate hearing about our guest's experience. Please except our sincerest apologies for the issues you had with you room. We are continuing to make improvements to the hotel. If there is something I can do to make this right with you, please contact me at gm.mi284@choicehotels.com.
Every guest and their experience is of the utmost importance to us.

Sincerely,

Tina Eisenbrandt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here overnight between Christmas and New Years after taking our daughter and her friend to the water park across the street. Very comfortable and quiet with a nice breakfast available in the morning. Only problems were that there was no refrigerator in the room and the bed speed was worn from numerous washings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rf2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina E, General Manager at Quality Inn Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Quality Inn & Suites while in Dundee. I would like to thank you for sharing your experience here. We continue to make changes, I am most pleased to announce that we are getting more refrigerators and microwaves for rooms and by summer all of our rooms should be equipped them.
I do hope that the next time you visit the Dundee area you will stop in and let us share our continual improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our stay didn't start off great. I reserved on the Quality Inn website weeks ahead and requested a noon check-in. We gave them an extra hour and arrived at 1:00 PM Saturday. The room wasn't even started yet. The young, inexperienced clerk had no idea when the room would be ready. He said "Maybe 2:00" but since he didn't check with anyone, how could he possibly know? It seemed like he dreaded asking the cleaning staff. He did give us keys, which is a no no in the hotel industry when you don't know if the room is ready or even still occupied!

We went for a bite to eat and came back at 2:30 pm and went in the room and it hadn't been touched. We saw the cleaning staff and told them politely what the front desk clerk had said. They told us the clerk had told them nothing, and if they knew they could have had the room ready at 12:00 no problem! There is NO communication in this fairly small hotel! They cleaned it right away and apologised a million times. Up the hall I heard them say "He's TERRIBLE"! Referring to the front desk clerk.

Anyways, the room was HUGE! It was the King Suite with a massive hot tub,. It's more like an apartment than a hotel room. There is a king bed, sofa (no sofabed) small fridge, LCD TV with HDMI inputs and it swivels towards the hot tub, bed or sofa, small bar fridge with freezer, microwave and bar sink in one area and another vanity counter and sink in another area between the hot tub and bathroom.

The bathroom is extremely tiny, with just a toilet and tub and a heat lamp but no exhaust fan. The stucco on the wall was poorly done and runs onto the floor and the back of the door, but that's just cosmetic.

There is a balcony with room for two chairs overlooking the indoor pool and big hot tub on the lower floor. It was a nice touch. The pool is very clean but not nearly as warm as it should be. The hot tub is big and clean and open until midnight with no kids allowed after 10:00 pm which is nice.

The breakfast was minimal with cereal, English muffins, bran muffins, hard boiled eggs and make your own waffles. The toaster is a consumer toaster and takes forever. Coffee wasn't bad and juice and milk are available. Not much fruit but there was some yogourt.

The breakfast area is small, and they should put some tables out in reception for overflow as it got too crowded.

All in all for the money and great location (Walk to everywhere including Cabelas) I would stay here again, but the front desk on Saturday during the day had zero training and failed to communicate. Also the walls are quite thin, I could hear every noise next door, but the TV takes care of that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina E, General Manager at Quality Inn Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Quality Inn & Suites on your recent trip to the Dundee area. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to progress and better our service. Communication between departments is critical and we will continue to work on that. Please accept my apologies on the check in issues you experienced. We hope that when you are in the area again you will stay with us and allow us to give you a better experience.

Sincerely,
Tina Eisenbrandt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This recent guest believes management at this facility has assembled one of the most convivial, helpful staffs in the history of international lodging. This place is not the Ritz, but then, again, the Ritz is too ritzy for most of us normal people. If all you want is a spacious room, presentable shower curtains, a really fine pool and immediate access to numerous shopping venues, I urge undecided voters to create a path to this humble yet entirely acceptable facility.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of hallways have nice carpeting.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtpomeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina E, General Manager at Quality Inn Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Quality Inn & Suites while traveling to the Dundee area and taking the time to post a review. It is wonderful to know that we were able to make your stay a wonderful one, and thank you from the whole QI team for the generous review! We look forward for your return to the area and hope we will be able to accommodate you again.

Best Wishes,

Tina Eisenbrandt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews