We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and wine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon

Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #21 of 25 Restaurants in Dundee
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very convenient that this is walking distance from the Holiday Inn Water park hotel. We shared meals between the 5 of us so we wouldnt' have leftovers, and were able to have them recork our bottle of wine so we could finish it back at our room. Food was excellent!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HaggFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    20
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,123 reviews
1,298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 822 helpful votes
“Good Steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been to a few Lone Star locations and this one was up to standards. It is easy to find off the highway. My steak was prepared very nicely according to my specifications. The service was very good. and the prices are not bad for what you get. This is a good spot if you are looking for a steak.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tough steaks, cold fries and a bitter metallic flavored Caesar salad!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have eaten at this location several times over the years and was always disappointed! Great rolls but it takes more than great bread to satisfy when dropping $100 for a family of four! After consuming a few bites of the cheese fries appetizer our son had to make 3 trips to the restroom leaving his entire meal at Lone Star! Tough steaks are virtually unchewable. A1 sauce could not revive the lack of flavor of the steak! The Caesar salad, which usually, I can never get enough of, had a bitter metallic taste. In my entire life I have never left any portion of a Caesar salad unfinished but this one had to be abandoned! Wait-staff was very friendly but service was so slow that the cheese fries had to be eaten cold because the ketchup arrived too late! Here's a clue Lone Star!...most people like ketchup with fries!!!! I don't know if we will ever return to Lone Star! Too many disappointing meals! Had a better meal later in the evening of fish sticks and fries at home and the cost was far less than $5 for two! Hey Lone Start...would you like my recipe for fish sticks and fries? I'll even throw in my recipe for Tartar sauce if you promise to serve it before the fish gets cold!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edbaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eh!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sunday night, 7pm. Restaurant half full, lots of open tables, but we were made to wait 30 minutes, and then seated at one of the open tables we viewed for 30 minutes! Food was just ok. Bartender seemed to have a lot of questions as to how I wanted my Absolut Cosmo made: dirty or clean, shaken or stirred, rocks or no rocks. Seriously! Just make the dang drink...it's not complicated.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Ive been here twice now and both times have been great. Steaks have been good. Friendly servers. Its nice to have somewhere decent to eat out here in the country where there are not many options other than greasy diners.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing