We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Dundee
Nearby Hotels
$90
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super Motel(Luna Pier)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveler rating
70
79
59
24
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
79
59
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parksplash universeholiday innkids eat freehotel poolking bedsnack shacka lot of funat noonbreakfast buffetget awaybirthday partiesindoor waterbig slidesbob evanstoddler poollate check
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 255 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and 2 children (1 & 8) stayed 2 days and 1 night. Th king suite rooms we had were amazing. It had a living room with t.v, fridge, microwave and sink. In the Center of the room was a small room with 2 sets of solid wood bunk beds and a t.v. My son absolutely loved is little room! The kin suite was very spacious but the bed and pillows were a disappointment.

We really enjoyed the water park. It was clean and the lifeguards were VERY attentive. The slides and kid place were nice for all ages.

The arcade was decent. The games were cheap to play, which was a plus, and they have decent prizes. They had quite a few that were out but the kids still had fun.

Breakfast was so so. Nothing special. The waitress was very nice though.

Over all review:
EVERY employee we came across was very pleasant. That doesn't happen often. The room was great but the beds need upgrading. Water park was great. Very clean. My husband is a platinum member and this was one of the best stays we have had through Holiday Inn. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandiPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at Best Western Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear. BrandiPerry,

We are very happy to hear that you and your kids had an amazing time during your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time and we appreciate your comments. We apologize you were disappointed with the beds and pillows. Also, please accept our apologies for your experience with our Arcade and Breakfast, our goal is to make every part of your stay special and unfortunately we did not make that happen. We will forward your comments to our Management Team to review and make certain all our amenities create a memorable experience for all our guests. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here one night on my way to Mackinac Island, Michigan. This is a great hotel to stay at. We had a wonderful room with decor like Cabella's- deer and outdoor life print in room. Room was spacious and clean. The hotel featured a clean , warm indoor pool and the breakfast buffet was great. They had an adjacent waterpark which we peaked in including a spacious game room. There was an extra charge for that but if you had children it would be fun for them. There are restaurants nearby{Bob Evans, Longhorn and a couple others } which you can walk to plus a beef jerkey outlet. There is a large Cabella's next door which even sells boats. I would recommend this hotel to others and if I ever get back to Michigan I would stay there again. Men who hunt will especially like the decor . Ladies if you want girly decor you wont see it here but you wont be disappointed with all this hotel features!
P.S. This hotel is not far over the state line from Toledo , Ohio and not a real far drive from Cedar Point.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at Best Western Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear. TiaB,

Thank you so much for the positive comments about your recent stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post them. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our “outdoor” theme which we believe makes us very unique as a Holiday Inn. We invite you to enjoy our water park during your next visit which we hope is very soon!

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were headed to Ohio and decided to break up our 6 hour drive with a visit to Dundee. We made last minute reservations and had no problems when it came to check in. We arrived pretty late and had no intentions of using the watermark. Looking at it from the bar/restaurant though it looked nice and appeared to have an adequate amount of lifeguards. We thought the bar/restaurant was nice, the staff was great, and the food was good. All of the staff we came into contact with was great. I don't remember the name of the younger male at the front desk when we checked in but he was also very nice, full of useful information, and great interacting with our kids. The room was clean, beds were comfy, and I really have no complaints. Thanks for a good night!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at Best Western Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear. RyanP,

Thank you very much for the positive comments about your recent stay with us and taking the time to post them. We will forward your praise to the staff and let them know their hard work is appreciated and to keep up the good work. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Up front: clean hotel, front desk staff courteous, good value (they give specialty rates-government/AAA/etc.

Water park is affordable (find coupons on the Internet) and younger children will have fun (ours are 8, 6, 4, and 2) but older children will likely get bored quickly because the park is small. It is mostly clean but the bathrooms could use more attention (change in your room).

The restaurant is poor. While kids eat free I would have rather paid full price for a good meal elsewhere. They were out of many choices and what they did have was average and took a long time to prepare. We didn't order anything out of the ordinary-pizza, burgers, grilled cheese and yet it took nearly forty-five minutes (we were one of three tables in the restaurant). When we received the food it was average at best. The burger and steak were not cooked to order and the salad was very plain. On the upside, the waitress was friendly and attentive.

Some tips:
-look on Facebook or on the website for good deals.
-bring your own swim diapers if required. They have them for sale but they are pricey.
-if your children need life jackets or floaties, it would be best to bring your own. They are very busy and didn't have the right size available.
-avoid the restaurant.
-use the lockers for your valuables.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mds1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at Best Western Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear. Mds,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us along with the positive comments about the Hotel. However, we would like to offer you a sincere apology for your experience in the restaurant that has prevented your entire stay from being everything you expected. Your comments are very important to us and we will forward them to our Management Team to ensure our team provides the kind of service our guests have come to expect. We apologize for your less than satisfying experience and we hope that you will allow us to demonstrate our commitment to you as our guest in the future.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel was clean and quiet. The rooms were nice, albeit the room with the promo stay is very small and has no fridge or microwave.

The water park was fun. Definitely not on the scale of the bigger name places, but for the price and 2 days / 1 night it was quite enjoyable.

The arcade on the other hand was a HUGE disappointment - half the games didn't work and the ones that did "work" were buggy and tended to interrupt play a lot. The Adventure Cash card is a hassle, once you buy it there are no refunds, even if the games you wanted to play are out of order. Stay away from the arcade and enjoy the water.

The restaurant was also poor (dinner). The food quality was at best average, but the service was slow and the waitress missed items. There are plenty of places within walking distance or short drive - worth leaving the hotel for meals.

Overall - it was alright for a quick getaway; the kids had fun (5, 7, 8, & 9). We would go again, but now we know to not waste our time or money on the arcade or restaurant.

Room Tip: Call and ask about room amenities before you book.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at Best Western Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear. MarcB,

We would like to offer you a sincere apology for the disappointment you experienced during your recent visit with us. Unfortunately, we did experience an issue with the our games due to a recent electrical storm which affected our Arcade and it’s functionality. We appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and the water park, but it is our goal that all the amenities we offer in the facility make a complete experience for everyone to enjoy and your comments will be reviewed by our Management Team to ensure all our guests expectations are met. We hope that you will accept our apology and give us the opportunity to prove our commitment to you as our valued guest.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews