We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dowagiac
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were booked into the Baymont with many of our family and friends who were attending a wedding nearby. We experienced much of what has been written lately. There was mold in the bathroom of one of our sons. The back door was proped open with a stone because my and probably other's electronic key didn't work on that door after the first day. It worked for the room all three days. Housekeeping cleaned the room after the first night but never again while we were there.
I must admit that the bed was comfortable and we slept OK. The breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bassman607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and have addressed the concerns with our maintenance staff. You will notice a significant change in our hotel operations as we transitioned to a new GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Snoman69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

AWFUL! I would not recommend staying here, I'd consider sleeping in my car first, but Niles isn't that far of drive for much nicer accommodations. We had the misfortune of staying at this hotel for an extended length of time, 18 days due to a house fire before we were able to make other accommodations. During that entire stay housekeeping visited our room once. I had to go and get the vacuum several times during the stay, had to take dirty towels to front desk to get clean ones, ask for toilet paper... AWFUL. Pool was in disrepair with missing tiles, hot tub didn't work and no towels in the pool area either. Mold in the sinks, toilets barely flush, housekeeping is AWFUL and non-existent. During our stay not only did we complain several times, but every time we had a complaint someone else was at the front desk complaining as well. The room key would quit working after a day and have to be reactivated. Just all around horrible experience. I am so thankful we were finally able to get much better accommodations in the Niles area, I highly recommend looking elsewhere before staying here.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaD237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Pamela - thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and have addressed the concerns with our maintenance staff. You will notice a significant change in our hotel operations as we transitioned to a new GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The pool wasn't open. Our room wasn't cleaned after the 1st night, and we had to go get our own towels. The room was dusty. the reclining chair was broke. the vending machine was pretty much empty. the pop machine only had 1 kind in it. Had to wait almost 15 minutes for coffee when we went down for breakfast. 1 toaster didnt work well so we had to wait.....but in the end we did end up with 1 of our 2 nights free!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Rhonda - we appreciate your feedback. Our hotel is fully operational and all items have been restored and continue to undergo routine maintenance checks. We are in the process of switching vending machine companies to ensure product is well stocked. Sorry for the inconvenience and glad the staff was able to offer a discounted stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is a pretty average hotel. The staff could be better trained to deal with customer complaints. The staff was very loud in the morning while I was eating breakfast. Overall, my stay was comfortable, but there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Rachael - thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value your input and continue to find ways to enhance the guest experience. We have discussed the loudness with our staff and have advised to discuss any issues in the back office Sorry for the inconvenience. We look forward to your future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff were extremely friendly and courteous. The room was not very clean and the toilet moved and wiggled when you Sat on it. When we went to the pool there were no towels we had to walk soaking wet back to our room. I feel for the price we paid $89.99 per night it should have been much cleaner and nicer. However my pets were welcome and that's a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear James - thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value your input and have discussed your room cleanliness concern with housekeeping and maintenance. We have random room inspections and do our best to have our staff well trained and to continue to double check all items in the room to ensure they are in compliance with a rigorous 36 step room inspection list. We look forward to your future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dowagiac
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Niles
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Niles
19.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Paw Paw
171 reviews
20.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites ST. Joseph/Stevensville
16.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac

Address: 29291 Amerihost Dr, M51 & M62, Dowagiac, MI 49047-7732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cass County > Dowagiac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dowagiac
Price Range: $78 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Dowagiac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Dowagiac
Dowagiac Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing