We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Kalamazoo, Michigan
11
Reviewed June 19, 2004

I loved my experience at Sherwood Forest. The Log
Cabin Suite was a wonderful honeymoon suite. It was very spacious and we loved the hot tub! Also,
Keith was very helpful and reccomended many wonderful places to eat in town. It is very close to the beach and the pool is very nice also. I enjoyed the homemade breakfast! I would love to visit again! Oh, and the owners new it was our honeymoon and they put up a sign to congratulate us! How sweet is that?

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 156 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Tinley Park, Ill
12
Reviewed May 31, 2004

What a great place to stay! The Log Cabin Suite was spacious and had everything we could have possibly needed. The setting was very peaceful and restful, away from the hustle and bustle of the town of Saugatuck, yet a short drive to superb restaurants and a quick walk to a beautiful beach.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago, Il
13
Reviewed May 4, 2004

This intimate and charming B & B is just what we were looking for! This is a gorgeous little get-a-way spot that I almost hate to share with anyone! From the attractive appointment of the rooms to the delicious breakfast, it was perfect! The atmosphere just invites you to get comfortable! We could not have been cozier! The proprietors, Sue and Keith, were gracious and interesting. We very much enjoyed their company. They were attentive without being intrusive. I am not really sure what the other reviewer was so disappointed in?! I can only say that we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Grand Rapids, MI
11
Reviewed April 9, 2004

Keith and Sue are perfect hosts at the perfect Bed & Breakfast. Wonderful home, great rooms, best Jacuzzi on the planet. Breakfast was superb and a stroll one block to the beach was fabulous. Already planning a return trip!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
210
Reviewed March 11, 2004

We were very mislead by this B&B when making our reservations. What really snatched us was when we were told breakfast is served on fine china. We thought, how elegant? This B&B is very small and a collection of clutter. If you like ma and pa, this is it. For someone looking for elegance, the breakfast china doesn't cut it. The male owner could afford to be much more humble, also. Not a good experience at all. Do your research!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 9, 2004

This person was rude to other guests and my wife too, and in relation to the china, we have some really expensive Bopla China that we serve breakfast on, we are not in the least bit cluttered and cramped either, we took number 4 in the state of Michigan in 2001 also. I am a humble man, but this person was way out of line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
12
Reviewed December 28, 2003

The Sherwood Forest Inn was recommended to us for a very special occasion. It was definately clean, but a little cramped for our style. Very nice owners but they were a little overbearing.One thing that was great was sitting on the front porch at night surrounded by woods.Be prepared to drive where you want to go-the cab we called never showed!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Nina00000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
4.2 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
202 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
274 reviews
2.2 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 938 Center St, PO Box 893, Douglas, MI 49406-5140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: $164 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style, surrounded by woods, this beautiful home offers antique-furnished guest rooms with private baths, cozy wing chairs and Persian rugs. Three suites available, two with Jacuzzi-fireplace. Travel on Safari in our signature suite, the Safari Room, boasting 440 sq. ft. with a large sitting room, walk in shower and claw foot tub, decorated with authentic South African artifacts. Don your terry cloth bathrobe and have breakfast on your own private balcony in the forest. Our Tree Tops room sports a hand-painted mural that transforms the room into a canopied tree loft, complemented by gas fireplace. Heated pool, bicycles, 1/2 block to Lake Michigan public beach and spectacular sunsets. In winter, X-country ski or hike wooded paths. Separate cottage also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Forest Hotel Douglas
Sherwood Forest b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing