We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last stay at The Dunes”
Review of The Dunes Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dunes Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed August 21, 2007

My partner and I just returned from our first and most likely last stay at The Dunes Resort in Saugatuck. Our room #10 was located in the older section of the hotel and was mediocre at best. There was a small TV mounted to a shelf near the ceiling and it only had a few channels available. Our friends who paid much more per night for an upgraded 2-room suite in the newer building also had a small TV but they had a full range of cable channels available.

The bathtub surround had a spongy floor and when you touched the walls of the tub surround it sounded like all of the drywall behind it had crumbled away. There was a hole in the wall of the room near the entrance to the bathroom that was either caused when somebody punched the wall or threw something at it.

There was a basic alarm clock, (no radio), a small table with two chairs, a wall a/c unit and a closet with several shelves and a rod to hang clothes. The bathroom floor looked like it was the original, (1960’s ?), tile. It was clean but very dated. There was a small assortment of Judith Jack bath amenities, (soap, shampoo, etc.).

The double beds were very small and my partner and I are both about 5’ 9” and 150 lbs. I guess they were full size mattresses. We are used to getting queen mattresses when we book a double room in other hotels. Our feet hung over the end of the bed and we barely had room for the two of us lying side by side.

The noise from the adjoining room was terrible. Our neighbors decided to host after hours parties in their room after the motel bar closed and you could hear their conversations as if they were standing a foot away from our bed.

We arrived on a Saturday at the same time a cold front settled in on the area and it started to rain. Unfortunately, it rained all weekend and we were never able to enjoy the outdoor amenities. The pool area looked clean and well kept and there seemed to be an adequate number of lounge chairs for sunning. The pool water was very cold to the touch and I am guessing it was not heated.

I don’t know if it was due to the bad weather all weekend, but the Sunday T-dance was a disaster. Even though there is a huge covered patio/bar/dance floor, only about a dozen guys showed up during the first two hours of the event. It seemed a few of the regulars/locals made an appearance and the tourists had either already left for home or just didn’t feel like dealing with the bad weather. Hopefully the atmosphere is much different when the weather cooperates.

We decide to leave early due to the weather and were not offered a refund of our last night’s stay, (a Monday night). The hotel website does indicate there are no refunds for early checkouts but I feel that policy is not necessarily fair, especially if guests are checking out at a time when the hotel has a large number of vacancies. They should at least base the policy on their occupancy at the time.

I would suggest a first-time visitor consider some of the other lodging options available in the area. There are many gay-owned B&B’s in the Douglas/Saugatuck area that probably offer a much better value for your money and you can always visit The Dunes property as a day guest and use the pool, attend the T-dances, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DesertBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2007

I forgot to check the reviews here until it was actually too late to make a difference, so I was very worried on my way to the Dunes. The reviews here made me wonder what I may have gotten myself into.

I'm so glad that they are thoroughly wrong!

From the moment we checked in everyone on staff was friendly and accomodating. From the front desk, to the bar staff, to the housekeepers.

The accomodations were comfortable and clean. We were in one of the upper cabins with a view of everything there, and the shortest walk to the bar, pool, etc...

Friends of ours were staying in one of the regular motel rooms, and they were nice and clean too.

The lodging prices are higher for a holiday weekend, but they let us check in very early on Friday, and checkout on Monday was not until 4:00pm. I thought this was a nice perk, considering.

The food at the restaurant was satisfactory and fairly priced, but because we had a cabin we brought our own food too.

The drinks in the bar, per round, were less than what we pay at home in Royal Oak. Not much less, but even if they were the same I would have found them to be priced fairly.

It was a great weekend and would definitely do it again!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DJBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
220
Reviewed June 22, 2006

Saugatuck, Michigan is a fun gay town. Stayed at the Dunes Resort which I had heard of. Would NEVER return to the Dunes. Unfriendly staff and employees. Rooms were not that great and way over priced. Music was extremely noisy all night. Blaring from different rooms and also the bar which is very close to the rooms.
Too many straight/bi sexual trolls driving around all the time. I have been to Ogunquit, Ptown and both coasts and the Dunes was the worst of all. The town itself is fun and if I return I will try one of the gay owned B and B's but would not suggest to anyone that they stay at the Dunes. Being a small community I guess that they think that they can gouge gays but would rather go to Chicago where there is a lot more fun.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
121
Reviewed May 29, 2006

We were in hopes of finding a great gay resort in Saugatuck but the Dunes is not it! First of all the employees are extremely rude and don't even know what is going on. They could care less about their guests. The accommodations are only like a Super 8 or Motel 6 and their charges are way too expensive. Rooms are not all that clean and very rundown. The bar (only gay bar in town) has prices that are so high that most guests don't even go there. The general attitude of owners/management is that they are only interested in taking in the money and they don't care about the guests. There are a lot of gay owned B and B's in Saugatuck/Douglas that you should stay instead.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mkoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
1.2 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Star Motel
Blue Star Motel
#1 of 4 in Douglas
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 19 in Saugatuck
81 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
#5 of 19 in Saugatuck
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pines Motor Lodge
The Pines Motor Lodge
#2 of 4 in Douglas
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Resort

Address: 333 Blue Star Hwy, PO Box 894, Douglas, MI 49406-5281
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: $150 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 34 years, The Dunes Resort has provided a simple, comfortable gay hotel experience. Gays and lesbians come to escape the doldrums of Middle America and enjoy a day, weekend, or complete gay friendly vacation. Now crowned one of the largest gay and lesbian resorts and entertainment complexes in the Midwest, The Dunes Gay Hotel, formerly the Douglas Dunes Resort, is heralded as Western Michigan's premier gay and lesbian vacation destination and a pinnacle of the gay Saugatuck - Douglas community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dunes Hotel Douglas
Dunes Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing