We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of Business”
Review of Kalico Kitchen - CLOSED

Kalico Kitchen
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Douglas, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Out of Business”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place was filthy and mismanaged. Hopefully a phoenix will rise from the ashes. Thank God it's closed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeNozeAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    20
    5
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast...”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Kalico Kitchen is your typical kitschy country tourist breakfast spot.

The cutesy menu bordered on confusing. I still managed to get a Big Boy Breakfast or something like that. Good bang for the buck as it was quite filling. They were out of several menu items though, including gravy and sausage. Weird.

Server was nice. Decent breakfast, but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manilapacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wait, wait, wait some more”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Mediocre food and took over an hour to get our breakfast - and there were only 2 of us! Have no clue what's wrong with this restaurant but been there twice - once in 2012 and again this past summer and could not believe how SLOW the service was. I'm done with Kalico Kitchen - too many better options.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedWingFan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“So -so”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went for breakfast on a Sunday morning and there was a little wait, not too surprising on a Sunday, but the place is tired, service was just ok, food was just ok...hence the 3 out of 5. I think there's better places for breakfast in the area but we were on our way home and it was on the road out of Saugatuck so we checked it out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gdagesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An average meal in clean, new surroundings.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went back to Kalico Kitchen, excited to see the new restaurant! The interior is lovely, but not sure who would sit at the picnic tables, although they might be fun for families. We waited a while for our order to be taken in spite of their being just five other tables occupied at lunch time. I had the feeling our server was working alone with the cook.

Our meal was average and we felt slightly overpriced; $3.50 for three slices of bacon.

I

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie08022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalico Kitchen also viewed

Douglas, Allegan County
Douglas, Allegan County
 
Douglas, Allegan County
Douglas, Allegan County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing