We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable and spotless! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Star Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Blue Star Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Adorable and spotless! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here in June for a wedding my husband was in. What a sweet surprise! The Blue Star is such a gem. The GM Rusty is so nice and knowledgeable about the area.. He makes you feel like a long lost friend coming in for a visit. The rooms are cozy but the owners have maximized comfort and efficiency. Also, it is spotless. Not a speck of dusty or yuck anywhere. Absolutely perfect for a couples weekend getaway! The complimentary breakfast next door is yummy and the back yard of the hotel begs you to sit down in the Adirondack chair and have a cup of coffee. We will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    21
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
68
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great little place to stay. Rusty was very welcoming - he even called to let us know the room was available before the check-in time. Incredibly accommodating, provides you with free snacks and orients you to all the amenities in the area. The room was on the small side but wonderfully arranged to make best use of the space, and the bed was very comfortable. The room smelled, looked and was very clean. The back porch area was very inviting and hot tub was relaxing. And free breakfast next door was delicious! We would definitely come back and stay here again. Thanks again, Rusty! -Amanda & Eric

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Good experience. Caring owner. Tiny rooms. Nice patio area. Restrictive outdoor smoking policy. The diner next door did not impress whatsoever! Decent value. Ltd water pressure in shower but great towels.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank brooktroutchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great renovated motel, very charming!! Very close to everything! Loved the patio, adirondack chairs and hot tub out back. Went for a girlfriends getaway and we loved staying here. Will definitely return! The diner next door had amazing food and ice cream sundaes! The owner was so friendly and accomodating!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sky1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We didn't want to leave the Blue star motel we had such a lovely time. Everything was within walking distance which was great. Douglas / Saugatauk was the perfect location to relax by browsing the lovely art shops and eateries. Back to the motel- the staff were so friendly and welcoming. We absolutely loved the garden area out the back of the motel. The jacuzzi was great! We received a complementary breakfast from a lovely little diner beside the motel called m&m. Highly recommended! The blue star motel is a must if in Douglas! Thank you Rusty and the whole team

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were basic, but updated well. Nothing fancy. What I loved was the outside sitting area with Adirondack chairs on poured patio, which faced a raised deck with outside furniture and a hot tub. Very relaxing! No pool which might be a problem for couples with kids. Owner very nice. Breakfast vouchers at nearby cafe an added value. Very small town and cute. Folks friendly !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

The staff was so friendly! Great value and you can walk to downtown Douglas, close drive to Oval Beach and a quick bike ride to Saugatuck! Perfect central location! I would stay here again in a minute!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dscully05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
1.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pines Motor Lodge
The Pines Motor Lodge
#2 of 4 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#8 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Star Motel

Property: Blue Star Motel
Address: 167 Blue Star Highway, Douglas, MI 49406-5206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Star Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the Blue Star Highway, the Blue Star Motel offers the luxury of a boutique hotel with all the convenience of a modern motel.Tastefully designed rooms with custom closets and refreshment centers, designer furniture, flat screen TV's and free wireless access awaits every guest. Each on-suite Patio room has access to a covered porch where you can sit and relax before heading to the hot tub and unwind as the sun sets over Lake Michigan.In the morning, head to the Waypoint Restaurant next door to savor a complimentary breakfast before heading out for another enjoyable day in the Douglas/Saugatuck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Blue Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing