We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Your Door Locks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here recently for a couple of nights. Just after checking in, we noticed that the door lock was difficult to get to latch when leaving the room. We mentioned it to the front desk and really got no response. We decided to just make sure it latched before we walked away each time. Our second day with this hotel, we had left for the day to return to the door lock not engaged after the cleaning crew had finished. Again down to the front desk to complain and got a "we are sorry about that" and then nothing. No one came to look at the lock to make sure it was working properly, no question of if anything was missing. Will not stay here again or recommend that particular hotel to friends or family. Very disappointed ....how they handled my complaint.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpetch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 250 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

My friends and I had two confirmed reservations in my name. CONFIRMED. The day we were supposed to arrived, I get an email at 5 pm notifying me that as per my request one of my rooms has been canceled. I called immediately to find out what was happening because we were departing from Detroit to arrive at the hotel in 3 hours. I told the woman who answered the phone about the email. She was immediately defensive and and told me to call Expedia. I explained to her that I had booked the rooms through AmericInn's own website and not Expedia. She repeated over and over that there was nothing she could do for me. I insisted that she had to do something since I had two confirmed reservations that I had not canceled; I gave her the confirmation numbers. She said she would speak to the manger and get back to me. She called back after what seemed an eternity (it was probably 45 minutes) and explained that she had made a mistake because someone else with my same last name checked in and only wanted one room (I was later told by senior manager the clerk was required to make this call). She said she had already given one of our rooms away and there was nothing she could do about it , sort of "you deal with it" attitude. Luckily my friend had hotel points so we stayed at the airport Westin, but if we were to have arrived as scheduled, we would have been completely out of luck. This woman was poorly trained at customer service; she tried to blame the situation on me. Upon checking in the next night the on duty manager was apologetic and comped on of our rooms for the night. The real problem here was not that the clerk made a mistake it was her very poor and, in fact, aggressive handling of the situation. To me this seems like a management failure. This woman should be trained better and if untrainable let go. When I told the manager about my conversation she said, yeah that sounds like xxxx. If xxxx is known to speak to guests this way then management needs to take care of that. Failing grade on every level. Ugly, lousy sheets, freezing noisy air conditioner. I honestly think we dodged a bullet only having one night in this dump. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I took a chance on the property, as I had never heard of this chain before. Relying on good reviews, I booked online here. When we arrived, they had us booked for two rooms instead of one. I have to say we were very satisfied with the large, clean room and bathroom. The only minus was that I'd booked a room with a recliner, and there was no recliner in our room. There is no elevator at this property, which can be a problem with heavy luggage. We were on the second floor, and had to go a long distance down the hallway and back downstairs to find an ice machine. The breakfast was really bad! Sausage and eggs were not hot. Ugh! BUT inspite of everything- the actual room was VERY NICE, as was the bathroom. There was a fridge in the room and also a microwave (If I remember correctly). Staff was exceptionally helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunny51121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of our holiday. The staff were welcoming and very freindly. We had a problem with our reservation (made by a on-line booking company) and the front desk sorted it very quickly for us.

Nice room, nice breakfast and a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HyperspaceGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 30, 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us at AmericInn Hotel of Saugatuck/Douglas. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Through quality training and dedicated staff, we strive to make every guest experience as stress-free and enjoyable as possible.

We welcome you back at anytime and look forward to being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Americinn while passing through the area and were really happy with our experience. The room was comfortable and clean, with a wonderful bed. The staff was super friendly and always greeted us when we came in. I loved the breakfast option and the spaciousness of the lobby. We even took advantage of the picnic tables outside to relax before we headed downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juleebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

On behalf of the entire team here at the AmericInn of Douglas, Michigan, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
No matter how modern a property might be, or how updated the amenities, it is the quality of the staff that really makes a difference for each guest and we strive to bring the best customer service experience in the entire area.

Thank you for staying with us, and we'll be happy to see you during your next visit to Saugatuck & Douglas!

Sincerely,

R. Agens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel on July 2nd, 2013. The room was very clean and had comfortable beds and updated TV. The price was very good compared to the other motels I had checked on in the area. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us during the busy July 4th period!
We strive to give the best value and line of amenities in the Saugatuck/Douglas area, and maintain a warm, inviting atmosphere for all of our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we'd love to have you back during your next visit to our lovely towns.

R. Agens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hotel, great staff, very clean, great pool and hot tube. Great breakfast bar and food. They offer snanks and coffee and juice always which was nice. Only being in my 30s i must say i was very impressed to see expensive handicap machine lifts for the pool and hot tub. I have never seen a hotel that has done this and i am impressed that they would spare the expense to offer this to those who cannot access without this help. The staff were great. Great new restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: I say this in alot of my tips. Bring your own pillow. Bed was great but nothing like having a pillow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troy3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I am very happy to read that our new ADA Compliant Pool Lifts were of benefit during your stay--we have found that many guests have enjoyed the use, and ease of access to the pool via the lifts, so that each guest may enjoy the same amenities we have to offer.

Thank you again for staying with us, and I hope you had a great visit to the Saugatuck/Douglas area!

R. Agens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
10.9 mi away
Residence Inn Holland
Residence Inn Holland
#7 of 18 in Holland
190 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
903 reviews
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Holland
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
1.9 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Star Motel
Blue Star Motel
#1 of 4 in Douglas
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas

Address: 2905 Blue Star Hwy, Douglas, MI 49406-5298
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: $71 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas
Americinn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas Hotel Douglas
Americinn Hotel Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing