We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Otsego
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

When we first checked in, the room we were assigned was not made up. I went to front desk to report the problem. The clerk at the front desk jumped right into action and resolved the problem. She resolved the issue very professionally and efficiently. My wife and I were very pleased with the hotel and staff. Top Quality!

Room Tip: I believe any room here would be good. We stayed on second floor close to lobby and did not hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garbo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    55
    38
    29
    27
See reviews for
80
95
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We decided to go to Douglas to view their unusual Halloween Parade on Sat. Night bow fore Halloween. This parade is at 10pm-10:45 pm and is an adult event.
We found the that many motels and places in the area required a two night minimum.
We were pleased to find that the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is hot breakfast included, and it was a good bargain price. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Note...there is a nice heated indoor pool, but there is no elevatorwhich we were informed about before we booked a room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not many places extend breakfast, but they did. Waffles (that actually tasted good) scrambled eggs, sausage, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, oatmeal bars, yogurt, donuts, pastries, english muffins, toast, cereal, juice..... excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, and I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us! After extensive renovations, including an upgraded breakfast buffet, it is encouraging to see that our guests enjoy their stay experience.

Thank you again for staying with us at the AmericInn of Saugatuck/Douglas, and I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ryan A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Recently stayed two nights, in the area for a wedding. Ryan, the general manager, checked up in and was so accomodating, very professional yet friendly and pleasant. The other desk people were nice as well, even inquiring how the wedding was when we returned from it. Everything was very clean and we love the quietness. Decent breakfast and brought out more food quickly when needed. Pool was nice. Spa had some temperature issues and when I mentioned it to Ryan, he went to check it immediately. There indeed was a problem and he got right on it. We will definitely stay here again in the future as we have family in the area. Less than 5 minutes to everything in Douglas and Saugatuck without the "busy" factor.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you have a lot to carry in- there are stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitsuanddate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A girl's get-together weekend. Had two rooms. The staff was excellent!!! Both rooms were nice. The 1 queen bed/sofa room was large for us to all sit together to talk and share looking at the gifts we bought in town. The place was decorated nice. Had a cozy feel to it. Very nice pool area. Easy on-off the expressway. Easy to get to Douglas and Saugatuck's shopping, restaurants, sights, and beautiful Lake Michigan!

Room Tip: No elevator, so request 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and were very pleased with the whole experience.
The room, pool and common areas were clean and in good repair with a homey atmoshere throuout the whole holel. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and the complementary breakfast was better then most with scrabled eggs, saugage, a waffle bar and flavored coffees. The seating area was very attactive but half of the tables were the tall, bar type which were too hard for us older folks to comfortably get up on. However the staff had provided trays so we were able to take our food back to the room to eat more comortably. The staff was knowlegeable about the surrounding area and helpfully gave us tips on fun things to do. A great experience.

Room Tip: The hotel did not have an elevator so if stairs are a problem, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a great alternative to staying at the hotel/motels closer to and in town.Upon entry a big fireplace in lobby with nice sitting area.Front desk was very nice. Nice pool and spa.Nice outside patio by pool. Room was clean and comfortable.It is right off expressway and road into town.Free breakfast. Only two things are that summer prices almost double and have to use car to travel to town and restaraunts. No elevator,have to lug bags up the stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room when making reservations if you have luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
863 reviews
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Holland
97 reviews
11.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
2.5 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Motor Lodge
The Pines Motor Lodge
#2 of 4 in Douglas
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
Address: 2905 Blue Star Hwy, Douglas, MI 49406-5298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas
Americinn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas Hotel Douglas
Americinn Hotel Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing