We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Above Other B&B's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosemont Inn Resort B&B
Ranked #3 of 7 Douglas B&B and Inns
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A Bit Above Other B&B's”
Reviewed July 11, 2010

(July 2010) The owners are friendly but maintain a low profile, allowing patrons to find peace and relaxation while still feeling at home. The breakfast that is included in the price is exceptional. This B&B is clean and comfortable, with a relaxing atmosphere. It’s definitely a lot more costly to stay here, therefore, the pros and cons of whether the additional facilities will be regularly used definitely needs to be factored into the decision. If the following noted facilities are not going to be an important part of the stay, then finding another B&B would be more practical.

There is a very nice outdoor pool area with full-sized lounge chairs and pool lounge floats. Beach towels for patron use are abundant and readily available in several locations. Along the pool perimeter there are several small areas that are in shade where a person can sit in a lounge chair and comfortably read (or drink wine). There is an indoor whirlpool, dry sauna, and treadmill that are all available in an easily accessible area that is located immediately next to the outdoor pool. No children are allowed to stay at this facility allowing these entertainment areas to be used by patrons 24 hours, making it a perfect adult get-away. Bikes are also available for patrons to use. Out front, at the entryway, there’s a long front porch with rockers and a gazebo. In the back is a meditation garden with a pond and a waterfall.

In the general area, there are plenty of comfortable tables to sit and eat breakfast, either indoors or outdoors on the patio. There are also quite a few books, games, and a couch across from a flat-screen TV. Each day, the sample-sized shampoo, conditioner, soaps, etc. are automatically replaced. Our room had a fireplace, table with two chairs, a small, portable sized TV, and a long dresser with two drawers which we used and put the suitcases under the bed to store. The mattress was “extremely” comfortable.

And, of course, with everything, there is always a “but”; therefore, a few less notable items that may diminish the stay for some people might be that the only refrigerator available to patrons is in the common area where breakfast is served, although it is easy to store and retrieve items. There is ice readily available in a separate ice bin making it simple to keep a cooler in the room. The rooms are on the small side but not cramped and are more than adequate. The owners have two beautiful, friendly dogs but for those with dog allergies, they may need to take this into consideration. The bathrooms are on the small side also with no storage to speak of, making it a bit challenging but definitely not unbearable and it is workable with just a bit of effort.

To get to the beach, patrons need to cross a road and walk down a significant number of long, steep steps (there are a couple of small decks to stop and rest on the way down or on the climb back up to the top). To be fair, almost the entire Douglas area has to deal with this steep drop off to reach the beach. The beach is located at the bottom of this steep drop-off; therefore, for those who have trouble navigating a significant number of long, steep steps going down from the top of the higher elevation, down to the beach, there is a flatter location available. About 7 minutes away is Oval Beach (entry fee of $6 in 2010) which has flat access to the beach, a concession stand, restrooms, and showers and changing area. From our point of view, none of the minor negatives were so important or so detrimental that they couldn’t be worked around.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vacationers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I spend our anniversary here every year. We just enjoyed our 10th visit and can't wait to come back. This inn is a rare and special jewel... The rooms are luxuriously appointed, and the sounds of Lake Michigan lapping against the sandy shore lulls one to sleep at night. In the morning the enticing aroma of Pat's delicious breakfast greets you, and then there is the tough choice of where to eat this feast; under one of the umbrella tables in the garden, or in the sunny breakfast room overlooking the pool.

The most beautiful gift one enjoys at the Rosemont is the gift of being made to feel at home. Guests can use the bikes to ride into town, laze on the beach or beside the pool, steam in the sauna and then soak in the hot tub, or take a romantic stroll along the lakeside and enjoy one of the prettiest vistas I have ever seen. And for the ultimate in relaxation, I recommend snuggling into one of the wicker chairs on the porch and taking in one of those amazing Lake Michigan sunsets. And of course, the area offers an abundance of activities for those who wish to stay busy.

The Rosemont Inn experience is one of those pleasures in life that is not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We spent a weekend in Douglas/Saugatuck, and stayed at the Rosemont Inn. The owners were friendly and unobtrusive. The breakfast was excellent. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though a little dated. The beach across the street is beautiful and not too crowded, perfect for relaxing. Our favorite part was definitely the bicycles, which you can take whenever you like and enjoy a ride along the lake, into town, or wherever.

Douglas and Saugatuck were both close, and had lots of restaurants/bars to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sir_snorksalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

These rooms are so much smaller than they look on the website. They are clean and newly redecorated but way too small for $300/night. The small window unit air conditioner was less than appealing as well. We were there in July. We had a glass shelf in the bathroom that we had to keep an eye on because it was broken. The staff is friendly but the Innkeeper's friendliness goes out with the tide if you have any problems. The food was good and being with friends in such a beautiful location kept us grounded.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljrCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed here mostly because of the location on Lake Michigan-it didn't disappoint although it is advertised that 12 of the 14 rooms have lake views which is not very visible through the trees. We stayed in room #11 which has a jacuzzi and fireplace with king bed. It was decent sized although the bathroom was tiny!! The inn was very peaceful and comfortable though with a decent continental type breakfast. (we stayed during the week) Lots of shopping in downtown Saugatuck and Douglas and we drove down to South Haven to the Kal-Haven bike trail and rode part of the 33 mile trail which was very enjoyable. We also had massages scheduled at the inn which they did in an empty room. The massage therapist did a great job!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golf4552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

This inn is very comfortable and is in a perfect location directly across the street from Lake Michigan. The sunset at night is incredible...I saw deer and hummingbirds from the deck...and the pool is uncrowded and refreshing. The inn is very well planned out with a number of common rooms for your use, bikes to borrow, snacks and beverages available at all hours, and a very nice breakfast buffet with excellent variety. The guest rooms are attractive but small...but who would spend much time in the room with the pool, sauna, hot tub, beach and hiking available just outside the door? There is no better B & B location that I am area of in the Douglas/Sawyer/Union Pier area. Don't miss dinner at Everyday People in Douglas...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed there for 3 nights mid-June 2009. We were surprised by how small our king-bed room was, and really dismayed by the size and functionality of the bathroom. As an advice, request room 15 as it is the biggest and nicest of the lot.
The inn is across the street from a public beach on Lake Michigan. It's a quiet and nice location, away from the hustle of Saugatuck/Douglas and just a short drive away from both towns. The grounds are beautiful and tranquil. There are plenty of outdoor spaces to relax away from others. The beach is small and not that great. As an advice, try the oval beach in Saugatuck or even better, the Ottawa beach in Holland, our fave by far.
The breakfast has been downgraded to generic continental fare. The selection is large on the week-ends. The owners informed us that the health department has refused to allow the inn to cook hot breakfast on site. Very disappointing. The price of the room has been decreased accordingly. On Friday and Saturday nights, there are appetizers to snack on, which was a pleasant surprise and hit the spot for us when we arrived.
The inn has a sauna/Jacuzzi/pool, and it was nice to relax there at the end of the day.
Bikes are available for rides, but they are old and uncomfortable.
All in all, an OK location.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn_T_ECanton_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#6 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.2 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemont Inn Resort B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Inn Resort B&B

Property: Rosemont Inn Resort B&B
Address: 83 Lakeshore Dr, Douglas, MI 49406-5183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round, we are a 14 room Bed and Breakfast located along the Lake Michigan shoreline in the Saugatuck/Douglas area of Southwest Michigan with direct beach access! Each room is individually appointed with a fireplace and private bathroom. A full buffet breakfast is served each morning with snacks available throughout the day. Restful and relaxing, we also offer free WI-FI, an outdoor swimming pool, an indoor spa area with a 10 person hot tub and a dry sauna and bicycles for our guests use. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing