We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay”

Palette Dining Studio
Ranked #370 of 1,109 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $26 - $26
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's okay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The price for dinner is a little expensive but it is all you can eat so I guess it's a tradeoff ....seems like they are getting cheaper for instance once they had really good fresh oysters...but they stopped serving them....the Chinese section is pretty good, especially the Mongolian BBQ station

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good selection, tasty food.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and this included dinner for two at the buffet. We are not normally "buffet people" for dinner, but this one was excellent. We started with some soup and salad, then tried the "fish" station, oysters on the half shell, peel & eat and fried shrimp, teriyaki salmon, all nice and not a bit "fishy". Onto the Chinese station for some goodies and then the American with roast turkey, pork ribs, beef, mashed potatos etc. We saved room for desert and sampled many different items. Finally I enjoyed a made to order crepe, which was great.

We thought that the food was fresh and tasty and that there was an excellent variety. As stated, although we do not normally eat dinner at buffets, this one was a very pleasant surprise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesbooth_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landover, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hugh Variety of Good Food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I love everything about this. At dinner I stuffed myself with a taste of nearly everything. Breakfast was good too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hudson MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I have been to the buffet at MGM Detroit numerous times in the past several years. We had not been in a while and were looking forward to going again. I usually only write positive reviews, but this place has declined so much I felt I needed to call them out. We don't expect fine dining here, just reasonably tasty choices. I will say the short rib chili and the salad bar were very good, and the service was fine. Everything else was mediocre to poor. Maybe we are spoiled by some of the better buffets in Las Vegas such as the Bellagio that we have also visited many times. Breaded fried shrimp was cold and rubbery. Salmon Teriyaki looked promising but was quite dry. There were not many choices for a Saturday lunch time. Meatloaf was bland. Fried chicken was good and the vegetable sides were OK. The meat at the carving station looked very dry, so we id not even try it. Desserts were few choices and just OK. Bread pudding looked like it had been sitting out for hours.The prices did not match the quality either. $22.00 price should have been about $9.95 for the poor quality. We will not be going back, and I cannot recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johndf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Omelettes”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stefan, at the omelette bar, was one of the highlights of my stay in Detroit; he was always warm and friendly...and made great omelettes. The fruit bar was always tasty and the staff friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HooGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palette Dining Studio also viewed

 

Been to Palette Dining Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing