We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little worse than I thought”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Pictures of rooms were misleading. We had to change rooms. The first room had a window that was a block glass window. The air conditioner did not work. The room was very musty. The television remote only turned the tv on and was a very old style. The bathroom had long black hair on the floor. Our room was changed with no problem except for the fact we had to have a smaller bed. The air did work and so did the tv. We did not get logged on to the internet we tried with 3 different devices. The bathroom again had the black hair on the floor.The fitness room was under renovations as it has been for some years. The only door you could enter was the main lobby. You could get out other ones just couldn't use your key to get back in. The beds were good enough. We didn't bother to go to breakfast. On our way out we did see cereal, milk and juice and some cut up pieces of a banana bread. If you are just looking for a cheap place for one night this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michiganrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Room looked just like the photo, easy to find, very nice people. Had a glitch with res for 1 or 2 beds, I think it was their online service, not the staff trying to pull a fast one. I have paid a lot more for places with doors that could only slam and a smoke detector light flashing in my face all night. (Westin Cadiilac). Handy free parking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The people at this hotel are wonderful. Andre and Andy are top notch with info about the city, and willing to help you out. Pleasant and wonderful people to talk to when you get in or back to the hotel. The room was nice for the price that they charge, although the door could have a better locking mechanism, as you really have to tug on the door to close. That was the only flaw in my stay. As I said Andre and Andy make you feel like you are at home. Would come back there the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_B21931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Granted my manager forgot to call ahead & book rooms for us. So we checked in @ 430a. I realize this makes it tough on the hotel.

The night manager allowed us to chill in the lobby for an hour while we waited for our manager to get there. She even checked to see if there were any reservations for us. She was also quite pleasant - chatting, giving advice, & allowing us to use the restroom.

The problems began when we got to the room. We were only sleeping there, but the heat was turned off, so the room was freezing. When I plugged the heater in I had to jiggle the knob to on then off several times before it actually clicked on. The room never really warmed up completely.

The hair dryer in the room didn't work. There were no tissues in the bathroom, even though there was a box. It seems like they only clean the rooms when someone makes a reservation. Lord knows what was actually in the beds/ on the sheets. I chose not to look

Room Tip: Reserve your room in advance. Preferably when a maid will be on duty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is solid. It is a great location and meets all the necessary requirements. Andre is a manager there who does it all and was an excellent host. He made sure I had anything I needed and recommended some great spots downtown. Andre is first class. As I said the hotel is good and the reason it didn't get a higher score is because the overall room experience was lacking in some areas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice. Once for the Hoedown that goes on downtown every summer, and once on New Years. Both were booked last minute on the day of when there were no rooms left downtown (and even on New Years we called and asked to hold the last room for us with no reservations and they did) and the stay was cool. Free shuttle service to the heart of the city till 2am, got hammered downtown and you can call to get picked up by one of their shuttles. Its nice. The price was fair for the days we got the room. We got to stay past checkout (which they didn't mind because we were hungover the next day, and the one guy, Andre was cool as hell, polite, and hooked us up. Free breakfast too. Maybe no 4 star casino hotel, but a good priced, good serviced, and well staffed hotel overall.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fukyug12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel itself is OK. Nothing fancy, but serves it's purpose. We were in town for an event at Joe Louis Arena. The hotel is about a 5 minute drive from there. Definately NOT walking distance. The hotel supposedly has a shuttle, I saw it parked out front, but when we asked about it, we were told there was no shuttle but he offered to call a cab. The cab ride was $10 each way. Our room was clean and functional, which is all we wanted. The breakfast is very skipable, which is what we did. Muffins, bagels and some drinks. There was a fitness room that had a sign on the door that said out of order. Parking is free in an unsecured lot. We had no problem with that. The neighborhood isn't too bad. There is street noise. My husband didn't sleep well because of it, but I slept just fine. Everyone I dealt with was nice except the woman when I checked out. She could use some people skills. It's a relatively cheap bed to sleep in with a shower. Period. This hotel isn't a five-star establishment and 5-star amenities shouldn't be expected.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaeldeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
2.1 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
3.4 mi away
Hotel St. Regis
Hotel St. Regis
#21 of 33 in Detroit
285 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit

Address: 1999 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48207-4111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range: $102 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is conveniently located near the Renaissance Center complex, Comerica Park ballpark, Ford Field, Joe Louis Arena and Cobo Conference / Exhibition Center. The MotorCity Casino and MGM Grand Detroit casino are within three miles. Greektown, with its many restaurants, shops and casino, is less than two miles from this Detroit, MI hotel. The UAW-Chrysler National Training Center is only two blocks from the hotel. Free shuttle service to many downtown attractions and businesses within three miles is available. There are several restaurants within walking distance. The Main Street Grille is located on the hotel premises. This Detroit, MI hotel offers business travelers conveniences like voice mail, well-lit work areas, and access to copy and fax services. There are coffee makers and hair dryers in all guest rooms. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in some rooms, as well as whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible are also offered. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Comfort Inn is the most ideally located hotel for any stay. The staff looks forward to hosting every guest visiting the Detroit area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing