We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go down the street!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Detroit Regency Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Rosemount, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Go down the street!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I travel a lot for work and this is the worst hotel I have been in. The rooms were nasty dirty, the internet was spotty and we actually had to move rooms because of it. The staff was rude, aside from the cleaners who were upset because their manager told them to bring in their own cleaning supplies. The breakfast had no selection to be considerded a continental breakfast. On top of that the manager over charged me by $10 per night on my credit card. Honestly I would have been more comfortable and had less hassle sleeping on the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    23
    17
    31
See reviews for
22
30
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed in the Regency for a month. Its was nice and pleasant stay. Front desk personals are very helpful and friendly... Hotel is very close to greek town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venkatesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

nice comfortable hotel with an eccellent friendly and helpfull staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56Yahya56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Clean and tidy low budget hotel.
Good service. Minutes away from downtown Detroit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

All the hotels downtown were booked solid on 6/26 & 6/27 and this was the closest available. I didn't know that one of the biggest fireworks display's were on the night of the 26th. I read the reviews and was a little hesitant, but I was pleasently surprised when I got there even though there were mobs of people lining the streets. I was met by a cheerful security lady, the front desk people were nice as well. My room was very clean, but did smell a little musty. I just opened the window to get some fresh air and it was gone. Good free shuttle service, the continental breakfast was not the best, but it had the basics. The bed was comfortable and the shower worked well. No complaints from this guy, just your basic no frills hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Jefferson
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed Sat June 23,2012 for one night,we went to The River Days Festival then on the Detroit Princess,we didnt want to drive home so me planned on finding a inexpensive room, that we did. $99 for the night, it's not too far from downtown.We stayed on the first floor,the room was clean,it did smell like smoke but from the reviews I read I was prepared for that, I sprayed th entire room including the sheets with lysol. Wear your slippers on the carpet of course. We didnt have any issues,we felt safe,friendly staff,overall it was a bargain and cheaper than a dui.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labella624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were going to the Grand Prix and didn't want to "break the bank!". This room was very adequate for what we were looking for. It had free shuttle available, friendly staff, secured lot, continental breakfast and was clean. The downfall would be that due to the many functions happening downtown, the halls stayed noisy well into the early hours of the next morning. But overall, the stay was good, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

Room Tip: There is no pool, nor room service but it is in close proximity to most every fast food and some fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
2.1 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
0.6 mi away
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
3.4 mi away
Hotel St. Regis
Hotel St. Regis
#19 of 33 in Detroit
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Regency Hotel

Property: Detroit Regency Hotel
Address: 1999 East Jefferson Avenue, Detroit, MI 48207
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Detroit Regency Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Detroit Regency Hotel is conveniently located near the Renaissance Center complex, Comerica Park ballpark, Ford Field, Joe Louis Arena and Cobo Conference / Exhibition Center. The MotorCity Casino and MGM Grand Detroit casino are within three miles. Greektown, with its many restaurants, shops and casino, is less than two miles from this Detroit, MI hotel. The UAW-Chrysler National Training Center is only two blocks from the hotel. Free shuttle service to many downtown attractions and businesses within three miles is available. There are several restaurants within walking distance. The Main Street Grille is located on the hotel premises. This Detroit, MI hotel offers business travelers conveniences like voice mail, well-lit work areas, and access to copy and fax services. There are coffee makers and hair dryers in all guest rooms. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in some rooms, as well as whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible are also offered. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Detroit Regency Hotel is the most ideally located hotel for any stay. The staff looks forward to hosting every guest visiting the Detroit area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing