We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Detroit Regency Hotel
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one week and while it was apparent that a few local folks brought ladies of the night in from time to time, I did not have any problems. The heat worked well, shower was hot, bed was comfortable. The FREE continental breakfast and distance to my meetings allowed me to save tremendously.

It's not a Westin or Hyatt, but if you need a comfortable bed, safe location and close to downtown areas - this is the hotel for you. I'll be staying again next year during my annual convention.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd Floor are best, ask for "low traffic" floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Black Love A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    21
    18
    29
See reviews for
20
27
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

When I arrived to Detroit, I didn't have a hotel reserved. The taxi driver recommend a different hotel on Jefferson for me. When I arrived at the hotel I was terrified to even step out of the taxi. Then he brought me to the Regency hotel. The staff was excellent, I requested extra towels and Andy was kind enough to deliver it to my room. Later that evening, I called down to the front desk and the gentlemen working recommended the Coney Island next door to eat. Great stay for your money. I will be back for the hoedown and the regency is definitely where I am going to stay. Thank you for making my trip an experience.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisajowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I consider myself to be a coinsurer for discovering hotels that fit my budget ($100 or less) and provide me with great quality and service. However, this hotel is by far the worst place I have ever stayed at, in all of my travels, and I travel around the country a lot.
1) The rooms beside me reeked of weed, and nothing was done about it
2) There were numerous hairs found in my towels and bed sheets prior to use
3) The walls are paper thin, was woken up at 545am by extremely inappropriate bed noises and voices- could recite neighbours every word without them even yelling
4) When asked if there were plates for the breaskfast, the staff laughed and said they were all gone then ignored me
****Spend the extra money and go to a different hotel

Room Tip: the more the discounts, the worse the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank canuck716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Detroit hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

7.30 am thats when i checked in 04/11/2011 the guy in front desk works at his own space and i was greeted like i was begging for a room or they are helping me by renting the room. Amazing comfort not for the guest the guy who was in front desk never got up from chair he was relaxing and talking like he is talking to his buddy. Horrible experience the rooms are nasty and dirty. I just dropped my Luggage off in the hotel in the morning and washed my face in the bathroom never realized the towel is dirty. location is good its in downtown. Amenities smell every where u feel like u came to downgrade bar. very dark inside. the very moment i got down the taxi driver warned me not to stay in this hotel. If you dont have a good property you should have at least good customer care to make it up. The guy charged me with extra n early check in where as i told him i am just dropping off my luggage thats it. in short Bad bad bad yes if you are Dirty place to live...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank hrishi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

It was a last minute trip we took to Detroit. I called at least 10 different hotels in the area and I must say that none were as pleasant as this. We booked the last two rooms they had. At arrival I met Steve and Andy, what friendly guys. The shuttle driver was friendly and funny also. He took us to Greek town Casino and back for no charge. The breakfast and the service we received was just phenomenal. Overall, I thought everything went smooth.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorianJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I really enjoyed staying at the Detroit Regency. The staff was very helpful ,and welcomed me very nicely. The room was great everything was nice, and i was very comfortable. I am reading other peoples feedback and it is nothing like they say Next time i am in the area i am definitely going to say at Regency

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KSNN422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

My family and I came to Detroit for the bears game. The minute you walk in you are welcomed by a great staff. Everyone is extra helpful and friendly. We have traveled to many places but this time it felt different, more like family. The shuttle was a huge plus, took us to the game and back. The manager was super nice, cute, and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
2.0 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
0.6 mi away
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
1.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#1 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Regency Hotel

Property: Detroit Regency Hotel
Address: 1999 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48207-4111
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Detroit Regency Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Detroit Regency Hotel is conveniently located near the Renaissance Center complex, Comerica Park ballpark, Ford Field, Joe Louis Arena and Cobo Conference / Exhibition Center. The MotorCity Casino and MGM Grand Detroit casino are within three miles. Greektown, with its many restaurants, shops and casino, is less than two miles from this Detroit, MI hotel. The UAW-Chrysler National Training Center is only two blocks from the hotel. Free shuttle service to many downtown attractions and businesses within three miles is available. There are several restaurants within walking distance. The Main Street Grille is located on the hotel premises. This Detroit, MI hotel offers business travelers conveniences like voice mail, well-lit work areas, and access to copy and fax services. There are coffee makers and hair dryers in all guest rooms. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in some rooms, as well as whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible are also offered. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Detroit Regency Hotel is the most ideally located hotel for any stay. The staff looks forward to hosting every guest visiting the Detroit area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Detroit Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing