We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We recently held a very large conference at this hotel (over 400 people). Our organization holds meetings and conferences all around the country. The service at the Doubletree was by far one of the best!! Mimi and her staff are awesome!! They accomodated our every need and more. We will definitely use this hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,455 - 1,461 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel itself was nice in general, nothing special. The location was great, close to the Henry Ford Museum, and stores; Walmart Supercenter, Target, and Burlington Clothing.
Easy access to highway to and from Detroit. The room itself could of been better.
The restaurant service inside the hotel was great.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
Thank SOFTWARECONSULTANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband I stayed here for two nights recently. Overall, a good stay. Pleased with the location. Very nice lobby, cookies @ check-in are a nice touch. I had requested online to have extra towels and a fridge in the room. Apparently they did not get the request.
Check-in was efficient and friendly enough. Room was in pretty good condition. Wireless internet access code available at the desk. From the reviews, I wasn't sure the internet was free, but it was.
We didn't sleep all that great. Bed was super comfortable, but both nights there were groups of kids next to us slamming into our door, running down the halls, trying to open OUR door, etc until at least 2 am. Can't really blame the hotel, we didn't call to complain so I don't know what their reaction would have been.
I was most excited about the gym, good looking equipment all with personal tv's. What I found though was that almost every piece of equipment was somewhat malfunctioning. I managed to find one elliptical machine and one treadmill that both the machine itself and the tv/sound were working. Still one of the better gym facilities I've seen in a hotel, so I shouldn't necessarily complain about that.
We purchased our room online with a package that covered breakfast buffet. This was basically a glorified continental breakfast. Can hardly believe the price was $10 if you didn't have the little voucher we did. Had your typical continental breakfast fare, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, sausage, bacon, and waffles. Not bad, but not worth $10 quality-wise. The restaurant is nice looking, though. Servers brought coffee and juice, which was good. I think the coffee served was starbucks. The first morning our waitress, Nancy, really made a good impression. She actually looked like she was enjoying her job (and at 8 am, that's impressive to me) and was very friendly and helpful. She even got us coffees to take with us. I was hoping to sit in her section the next morning, but I ended up in another womans section who was not so enthusiastic. She brought coffee and juice, but never said a word after that. I wouldn't have been that disgusted with this if Nancy hadn't been so awesome the day before.
Overall, we will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticklemesquirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Really, this is the best Detroit has to offer? I couldn’t believe this was the number 1 rated hotel in Detroit. I had booked a room with a King Bed and when I arrived this was confirmed by the Check-In clerk. She promptly gave me my key and when I got to the room, I was surprised to see it was a room with double beds. Surely, it was just an error, so I went back to the desk where I was told that there were no king rooms available. I was shocked since she had not 5 minutes earlier told me that I was booked into a King room! The room I eventually received was really run down. The carpets were soiled, the bathroom floors looked like it had mould and mildew everywhere, the towel rack was coming off the wall, and there was a cricket chirping in my room all night. There were holes in the walls and doors, which were incredibly thin, and the coffee maker still had grounds in it from the previous guest. This is not what I would expect from the number 1 rated hotel in the area. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Detroit and certainly will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Not only a central location, but also very comfortable beds, quiet rooms, and a great breakfast make this a good place to base your tour of Detroit. Greenfield Village and the Ford Museum are just down the road. There are nice restaurants in the area. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustyturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The rooms in this hotel were absolutely fine, but a member of the staff was extremely rude to my party when we couldn't get the elevator to function. He was walking by the elevator and was clearly an employee, and when we told him we were having trouble with the elevator, he said "it's amazing what pushing the button can do" and kept walking leisurely without a backward glance.

Not what I would call standard hotel hospitality after a long, exhausting day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savoytruffle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Selected this property due to proximity to client and reputation of the Doubletree brand. Traveling with my manager and wanted to impress him with this good choice. We had no trouble parking, received a prompt and courteous welcome. The desk clerk came around the desk to hand my key package to me and walked with me toward the elevator, so I would know where it was. Later I needed to print and fax some documents and Rachelle handled it promptly and efficiently. Much easier than using the business center.
I would come back and look forward to it.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
Thank ISail572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
9 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
8.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
8.1 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 34 in Detroit
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 34 in Detroit
726 reviews
8.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
11.2 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn

Address: 5801 Southfield Fwy, Detroit, MI 48228-3885
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#5 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $133 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Dearborn near the suburban west Detroit town of Dearborn, Michigan, is only nine miles from downtown Detroit and minutes from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). Our distinctively new, full-service hotel is conveniently located off the Southfield Expressway at Ford Road, with easy access to I-94, I-96 and all major Detroit-area thoroughfares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Detroit
Detroit Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing