We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great downtown hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This city (including other hotels nearby) isn't always known for its customer service, but service at this hotel is great. The hotel was a recent refurbish of a historic hotel and still retains some of the original charm in the lobby, along with very modern rooms. I stayed in a king suite for the same price as a regular king room, and it was huge, with a TV in each room, large bathroom, nice view of downtown buildings.

This end of Fort Street can be pretty deserted on weekends and at night but I felt safe walking alone in the neighborhood in the earlier hours. It's about 2 blocks to the People Mover and a 10-min walk to Campus Martius, Cobo Center and other downtown attractions.

Stayed here for the Detroit Free Press Marathon last year, and this hotel has the added bonus of being located pretty much on top of the start line. A nice addition was the race organizers arranged to have the hotel give out special room keys on race weekend with the marathon logo on it, which was fun for those getting in spirit of the event. Will be staying here again when returning for the marathon this year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda_Wh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer p, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I’m glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you so much for the feedback. Unfortunately it seems as though you stayed at the Downtown Fort Shelby location and not our property. I will make sure to pass along this wonderful review to them. We also hope that you keep Hilton properties in mind when considering future accommodations.
Kindest Regards
Jennifer Pupa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    390
    177
    68
    40
See reviews for
284
225
111
655
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dearborn, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The front desk was great, friendly and helpful. However, internet was down for the entire stay which prevented me from getting work done in hotel. Also, the lobby shop was closed more than it was open and the hotel was not that clean. I would not stay again unless I was faced with no other options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice hotel, great gym, rooms very clean. An older property by well maintained. Many resturants close by. Easy accsess. Good breakfast. Nice lobby with a gift shop. Some of the carpet in the halls was stained. I dont understand why hotels allow this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantillweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I just love this hotel. So do my kids. Everyone is friendly - seriously. There was a lady vacuuming a hallway we walked through and she stopped to say good morning to us with a smile. Now that I think of it, all of the staff we encountered smiled at us. Everything was perfect; AGAIN!

Room Tip: This trip we had a 4th floor room. It was quiet and didn't seem any less convenient than our las...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013midwestmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We love staying here,we have stayed many times and the staff is allways great. Our contact Mimi is allways willing to help us get our rooms for any of the events that we go there for.
The breakfast is very good which is helpful when traveling with a couple or a group of freinds.
Thanks, Harry W.R.H.G.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton twp, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel front desk staff is very friendly and accomadating. The lobby seating and fountain area is very comfortable and attractive feature. The pillows and beds are very comfy and in general I enjoyed my stay. I had some concerns regarding the cleaniness of my bathroom in my room. There was a smear of some sort that I noticed on the shower wall while I was using the restroom that gave me the eeks. I also was not impressed with the pool water cleaniness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I chose this place becasue it was less than a mile from University of MI where I had a one-day event to attend. I wish I was staying longer as I got in late and left early- so really didn't get to fully enjoy the hotel's ammenities.

My first reaction was, "Wow. So many reviewers on Trip Advisor said all kinds of complaining things about this place. They are snobby!" ;)

This place was VERY nice! If you want absolute pristine perfectionism and a carpet that doesn't look like human beings ever stepped foot on it- then go to the fancy pants bazilion star hotels that will cost you 2 grand per night. Please. I'm tired of the diva behavior of travellers.

I HIGHLY recommend this place. The staff at the front desk were beyond courteous. They actually came from behind the counter and out to physically greet us and shake our hands. And welcome us. They gave us warm chocolate chip cookies upon arrival. (YUM!) The lobby was beautiful The room beautiful and the beds and pillows were oh so comfy. They do charge for internet- but we joined the Hilton email list / points program and got free internet.

Someone said there was not a coffee maker in the room so I brought mine. THEY DO HAVE COFFEE MAKERS IN THE ROOM. Nice- Wolfgang Puck coffee makers and delicious coffee. And I'm a coffee snob.

Great place. Would stay here again and again. Wish I had time to try the breakfast and pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inlove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
8.1 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dearborn/Detroit MI
8.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
7.8 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
8.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Address: 5801 Southfield Fwy, Detroit, MI 48228-3885
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#5 Business Hotel in Detroit
#6 Family Hotel in Detroit
#8 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Dearborn near the suburban west Detroit town of Dearborn, Michigan, is only nine miles from downtown Detroit and minutes from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). Our distinctively new, full-service hotel is conveniently located off the Southfield Expressway at Ford Road, with easy access to I-94, I-96 and all major Detroit-area thoroughfares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Detroit
Detroit Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing