We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel, Close to Shopping and Restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Hotel, Close to Shopping and Restaurants”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was my first time staying at a Doubletree. I thought the hotel was very clean, the staff was very nice. Quick and easy check-in and check out.
The hotel is near two shopping centers and a Walmart, but traffic wasn't bad. There is construction in the area, but it didn't impact our travel time. it took us about 15-20 minutes to get to the casinos in downtown Detroit.

The area was quiet, security patrolled the parking lot. Lobby looked beautiful. Hallways and common areas looked clean. They do have a pool and fitness center with sauna, but we didn't use them. Didn't have time to check out the on-site restaurant, but would like too.
We had the double-double room. It was clean.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree Detroit-Dearboarn and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrippinsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    379
    173
    66
    38
See reviews for
274
213
109
641
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had decided to explore a bit of Michigan before our daughter's graduation at U of Michigan. On the top of the list was the Henry Ford Museum complex.
Good Afternoon,
I am glad that you sent this email as I wanted to write a positive comment about our experience specifically in the restaurant (I had complimented the staff to the front desk upon our departure) We were very road weary after our drive from New Jersey, so decided to unwind with a glass of wine. The waitress on duty couldn't have been nicer and more helpful with questions about the area etc. The next morning we returned for the breakfast buffet (far better than what we got in Ann Arbor at another chain hotel) and met another employee who was as friendly and helpful as the waitress the night before. We here in the NY area are so jaded and are a bit skeptical of people but these employees were just so genuine; we left feeling not only welcomed but like we had made new friends.
Great staff!
Judy and Terry Miller

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were in town for a Detroit Tigers game and checked into a 2 room king size bed suite. The outside of the hotel is very well kept and the the lobby was beautiful. The front desk associates were very polite and helpful. And the cookie was delicious. I love staying at Doubletree because of the excellent service and I love the comfortable beds and pillows. I will definitely book a room at Doubletree again and I will recommend Doubletree to friends and family. Next time I will make time to check out the pool/spa and I will bring my laptop for the internet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank three_m67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I stayed at this property in March and again in April and had great experiences on both occasions.

Staff is friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The rooms itself are a little dated (colored tile in the bathroom from the 60's and CRT TVs), but they are clean and housekeeping cleans them before noon. My only problem was the carpets were a little dirty during my March stay, but housekeeping vacuumed them the next day after I asked. I also had a microwave and refrigerator delivered to my room without any additional charge. I had a room in the back facing away from the highway and didn't have a problem with noise. The breakfast buffet has a large selection of items, which they rotate - pancakes, french toast, biscuits and gravy, etc.,. I'd say the only downside is the pool and workout room, which both seem small.

I had a problem with another hotel I was at in April and called the Doubletree-Dearborn and they had a room ready for me in 30 minutes. I've stayed at the Doubletree in Novi, but I've had much better service at the Doubletree-Dearborn. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The hotel is okay, nothing special. We did not appreciate the following: we had reserved a room with two beds. When we arrived we were told our room wasn't ready but could have another room...sure, why not. When we got to the room we saw that it had one bed and a sofabed. That gave us pause but it seemed like it would be fine for our kids. We left and returned at bedtime to discover that there were no linens for the sofabed. Housekeeping was reasonably quick to arrive with linens, but with a very weird and unpleasant blanket with a very rubbery feel and with no pillows. The housekeeping person was surprised we'd want pillows with our linens. She made no offer to actually make the bed and left.

The next day, after housekeeping had visited our room, we returned to discover that the sofabed again did not have linen, nor was there any for us to use to make the bed. We asked the front desk to get the bed made up for us, and it was, but again with the strange yucky blanket.

It's clear that the hotel has a loyal following and is better than some we have stayed in in the Detroit area over the years. And it's very well-located for tourist activities. But I don't think it has its act together as much as the high rating would indicate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2011

No major complaints, but many small things add up to a less than stellar experience. The hotel is well located, although a bit tricky to get to because of the way the highways weave around at this spot. No one greeted us at the door when we pulled up, and there was one person at the desk (a busy holiday weekend). The hotel was clean although the decor is dated, mostly earth and rust tones throughout. The tile in the bathroom was old and the grout needed attention. Beds are full sized, not queen. We were out most of the day Saturday; when we came back at around 8 PM, the room hadn't been touched. I went to the desk and asked about this, and received an apology and assurances that the room would be immediately taken care of. We waited in the lobby for nearly an hour, then went back to the room to find that fresh towels had been placed on the bathroom counter, but nothing else had been done.
Lots of noise due to the pool on the first floor (our room was down the hall from the pool).
The breakfast buffet was average.
Nothing terrible, but really not exceptional, either. Expected more after reading the reviews here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuicksilverDigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The hotel was very nice over all. The staff was courteous, the facilities were clean, in great shape and up to date. The conference rooms were well designed, the gym and the pool were smaller but really nice as well.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, close by but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod48533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
7.8 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dearborn/Detroit MI
8.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
9.0 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
11.2 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Address: 5801 Southfield Fwy, Detroit, MI 48228-3885
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#5 Business Hotel in Detroit
#6 Family Hotel in Detroit
#8 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Dearborn near the suburban west Detroit town of Dearborn, Michigan, is only nine miles from downtown Detroit and minutes from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). Our distinctively new, full-service hotel is conveniently located off the Southfield Expressway at Ford Road, with easy access to I-94, I-96 and all major Detroit-area thoroughfares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Detroit
Detroit Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing