We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Atheneum
Nearby Hotels
$334
$309
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$323
$303
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$159
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$340
$315
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$187
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
$169
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$257
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$279
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $316/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
201
190
93
38
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
190
93
38
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreektown casinoglass blockfishbones restaurantsitting roombedroom arealarge bathroomfree shuttlepeople moverdeep tubvalet parkingford fieldflat screenhotel shuttleshuttle servicebeautiful hotelwithin milescomerica park
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 562 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was a quick trip to Detroit for a Red Wing game. We hadn't stayed at this particular hotel in a number of years but my memory of the property was good. We valet parked and it was quick and efficient, even though the valet staff was extremely busy at the time of our arrival. The front desk associate informed of the hotel's complimentary shuttle that would take us anywhere within 5 miles of the hotel and she also suggested several nearby restaurants. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The room had a large work area, plenty of electrical outlets, a large couch and a flat screen television in the living area. The sleep area had two queen beds, plenty of storage and closet space and another flat screen TV. The bathroom was large and stocked with an array of personal care items. This hotel is located in the heart of Greek Town which is near many of Detroit's most popular attractions and venues. It is a bit of a hike to Joe Louis Areana but there are also many affordable (and free) transportation options. We took one of the free shuttles to Joe Louis Areana and after the game we took the People Mover (75 cents per person) back to Greek Town. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay. The price per room is in the $135 to $200 per night range.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were here for the auto show - just stayed one night. Contrary to the other recent reviews, our stay was flawless. The hotel is nice, and we were in a very clean suite that was a good value for the money. The staff were all courteous, we got free shuttle rides to the auto show - no problems at all. The only negative of sorts is the continental breakfast - it is free but is exceedingly limited (smallest breakfast selection I think I've ever seen, actually.) Otherwise, great!

One tip - on some sites it's suggested you can park in the Greektown lot for free rather than pay the $20 valet charge here. This may be true on some occasions, but not during special events (eg the auto show), when they charge $20 as well - so you may as well go with the in/out privileges of this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wombatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We usually stay at the Inn on Ferry Street, but our son convinced us to give the Atheneum a try. We checked in on Friday, Dec.28th at around 2:00. The valet, doorman, and desk staff were all cheerful and professional. On a number of occasions the person manning the desk was very helpful with information about locations, directions and transportation information. The rooms are interesting - dark, with lots of glass block and pillars. The bathroom is great, with a huge soaking tub. There are 3-4 stairs from the living room level to the bedroom. We both enjoyed the atmosphere of the suites, the lobby and like having Fishbones restaurant accessible through the hotel. The complimentary shuttle service doesn't run on a particular schedule, so be careful if you're using it to attend a timed event.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hoping to spend an enjoyable night @ the hotel with my boyfriend.....
Surprised this hotel is listed as a 4 star, on arrival no one offered to help us with our bags. The front desk agent, Radiana did not even look up at us when we checked in. There was no friendly welcome. Our first room wasn't clean so we ended up changing rooms. The rooms are outdated, not very clean, we were awakened to doors slamming all night. There is no security in the hotel to stop random people from walking in off the street. Outside our room someone left chicken bones on the floor. The walls are so thin I heard every orgasm the persons next to us experienced. We would have come out better staying at the Marriott or the casino. The rooms there are clean and updated and quieter. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lock48075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews