We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow I can't stop talking about the calzone.”

Detroit Beer Company
Ranked #48 of 1,109 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Detroit
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow I can't stop talking about the calzone.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stopped by for lunch and had the chicken, spinach calzone with a beer. It was fantastic! the best I have had in Michigan. Salad was good and the beer awesome.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micsolom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    125
    32
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food Average”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food was just average bar food and I don't drink beer, but my husband liked it and would go back for beer and bar food.

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad, a lil pricey”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall this is a decent place to eat. The place is on the smaller side so seating can be issue when the outdoor patio is closed. Food is good, service is good. Middle of the road overall. I would def try it out once.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KWChick76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food, disappointing service”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Right across from the Detroit Opera House and a stone's throw from Tiger Stadium, the restaurant is warm and rustic. We were seated quickly and looking at the menu, nothing stood out, so I settled on the chicken bbq sandwich with Bistro fries. From the first bite, it was love! Delicious, simple and perfect.

Now the bad news, our waitress was clearly late for an audition or audit, but she didn't have much time for us. My friend asked for the soup of the day and was assaulted with a barrage of words that went by so fast we thought it was all one word. The table wasn't set properly and she literally grabbed my plate when I lifted my hand to my mouth! Such a shame to have such disappointing service, but she was only one person...and really that food was great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Great food - Decent Beer”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great food. Beer is good, but there are better breweries both in Detroit (Atwater) and Warren (Dragon Mead and Kuhnhenn's).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detroit Beer Company also viewed

 

Been to Detroit Beer Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing