We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a few drinks and a bite to eat before the game!”
Review of State Bar & Grill

State Bar & Grill
Ranked #236 of 1,283 Restaurants in Detroit
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 18, 2017

We stopped in at the State Bar & Grill for a few drinks and a bite to eat prior to going to a Red Wings game.

We got there about a couple of hours before the game started and managed to get a table. The service was fast and friendly and in no time we had our drinks in front of us.

We all had burgers and fries which were very tasty and reasonably priced.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Moondoggie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2017

right next to the filmore theatre and accross from co meica park..perfect place for food and drink !!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Jamiev108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017

We went all over downtown trying to find a bite to eat that didn't have an hour and a half wait. This is a cozy little place. It is first come on the tables and bar seats. The food is decent and pretty inexpensive (2 adults and a beer $23). Its nothing outstanding but certainly edible when you are hungry. The location is right by Comerica Park and Ford Field.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Riverdog_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Went with my 18 year old to a concert next door. We arrived early so we could have dinner before the show. Tried to go in for dinner at 6pm and the bouncer said our 18 year old wasn't allowed in. I think it's ridiculous considering both parents were there and we were only going in to have dinner before the show. We would have been out of there well before the 9pm deadline since it was 6pm. The bouncer told us to go to Hockeytown, which we did and had a good experience.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Travelinklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016

Had a beer here while waiting for Fillmore Theater. It looked pretty basic offerings of bar food and drinks. Convenient it is attached to Fillmore.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Service
Thank bcsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to State Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing