We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Old School Bar”
Review of State Bar & Grill

State Bar & Grill
Ranked #237 of 1,282 Restaurants in Detroit
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Stopped into State Bar & Grill the other night before a Tiger game. We were so glad we did! The food was great and the drinks were also good. Prices were very fair for what you got. I had the Spicy Western burger than came with onion rings and fried jalapeños in it. The fries are a must also! Beer specials were $3 for domestics. Couple blocks from Comerica. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Bowling_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2016

We were looking for a place to eat before the Tiger game. It was raining and we did not want to go far. We did not want to eat inside the Stadium. We were not sure we wanted to go in this restaurant. We finally gave it a try. What a wonderful surprise. Inside was really nice. The waitress was nice and could name a ton of beers by memory. She was very nice. But the best thing was the food. It was delicious!!!!! It was not the usual crappy bar food. It was mostly burgers and sandwiches, but the sandwiches were great. I had the Turkey Deli sandwich and she had a Ruben It was Deli delicious. Fresh, great bread and very well done. It came with homemade chips and a pickle.

The prices were very reasonable. Sandwiches for $10.00. Less expensive than inside the stadium and much, much better.

Love to go back.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JeffreyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2016

We wanted a quick bite before a show at the Fox Theater. Stumbled upon State Bar & Grill and really enjoyed the food, convenience and service.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Pam1956_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2015

Almost didn't make it here because I was worried it was just another run of the mill corner bar with overpriced burgers. Turned out to be a nice, classy place. They have an impressive amount of beers on tap and our waitress was able to name every one of them! The burger was delicious and the fries were some of the best I've ever had. I would definitely go back!

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TequilaLari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2015

We were looking for a place to eat around 6:30PM prior to our 8PM show at the Fox. Unfortunately, there was also a 7PM ball game and a youth rally at Ford Field. We had walked around a few blocks, looking for a place to eat, but all the nearby restaurants had a 1+ wait. We walked along the side of State Bar, and were not sure we wanted to go in (just based on outside appearances). However, as we walked by the entry, an employee asked us if we were looking for a place to eat, and we jokingly asked if he had seating. Sure enough, he had several tables. We were seated immediately. Drinks were brought out promptly, although it took about a half hour for our sandwiches to arrive (probably due to the packed house). I had the Cubano with fries - very tasty and priced reasonably ($10). Will definitely keep State Bar in mind for future Detroit outings - close to Comerica and the Fox. Glad we found it!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mmcquaid19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to State Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing